Fountain County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Fountain County

Guide to Fountain County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Fountain County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 20, 1825
County Seat Covington
Courthouse
Address Fountain County Courthouse
301 4th St; PO Box 183
Covington, IN 47932
Phone: 765.793.2192
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1887*
1826*
1882*
1827
1827
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed December 20, 1826 from Montgomery/Wabash New Purchase[1]
  • County Seat: Covington [2]


Neighboring Counties

Warren  • Tippecanoe  • Montgomery  • Parke  • Vermillion


Montgomery CountyPutnam CountyOwen CountyEgdar CountyChampaign CountyClay CountyIroquois CountyVermilion CountyVigo CountyParke CountyVermillion CountyFord CountyColes CountyDouglas CountyFountain CountyBenton CountyWhite CountyTippecanoe CountyWarren CountyINFountain.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

For tips on accessing Fountain County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fountain County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Fountain County, Indiana. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information.

  • Beckwith, H. W., P. S. Kennedy, and Thomas Fleming Davidson. 1970. History of Fountain County, together with historic notes on the Wabash Valley: gleaned from early authors, old maps and manuscripts, private and official correspondence, and other authentic sources. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic) 977.247 H2b FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection    other libraries     INTERNET ARCHIVE
  • Portrait and biographical record of Montgomery, Parke and Fountain Counties, Indiana containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens, together with biographies and portraits of all the presidents of the United States. (1893. Chicago: Chapman Bros.)    other libraries      INTERNET ARCHIVE

For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Indiana Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fountain County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

Military Records

War of 1812

Moyer, Edward,Fountain County, Indiana Military (Veedersburg, Indiana: Fountain County Genealogy Society, c2009-2009 2 Volumes FHL Books 977.247Me

Mexican War, 1846-1848
Civil War

Civil War service men from Fountain County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Fountain County

Civil War Books

  • Salts, Walter. 1980. Fountain County, Indiana, draft call of 1864. (Indiana?: W. Salts?.) 977.2 A1 no. 218 FHL US/CAN Book  FHL Collection  other libraries
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fountain County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records
Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Fountain County Courthouse
301 4th St; PO Box 183
Covington, IN 47932
Phone: 765.793.2192

County Health Department has birth and death records from 1885.
County Clerk has marriage records from 1827, divorce, probate
and court records from 1830.
County Recorder has land records from 1828. [3]

Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Fountain County, Indiana is the

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records
  • Indiana State Digital Achives for Death, E-Publication, Instiution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
  • Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 - FamilySearch

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fountain County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Web Sites

Places

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Fountain County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fountain_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fountain County, Indiana 212 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:23.
  • This page has been accessed 10,042 times.