Fownhope with Fawley, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Fownhope with Fawley, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Fownhope with Fawley, Herefordshire
[[File:Fownhope St Mary, Herefordshire.jpg|200px]]
Fownhope St Mary, Herefordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Greytree
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Hereford PLU
Registration District Hereford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560; Separate registers exist for Fawleye beginning 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1661
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ross
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FOWNHOPE (St. Mary), a parish, in the hundred of Greytree, union and county of Hereford, 6 miles (S. E.) from Hereford. The village is situated on the eastern bank of the Wye, the road from Hereford to Newent passing through it. The church, a large and wellbuilt edifice, exhibits traces of the Norman, early English, and decorated styles; a Norman tower supports a more recent shingled spire of considerable elevation. There is a chapel of ease at Fawley. About half a mile to the north of the village is an eminence crowned by an ancient camp; and at some distance, on Capler Hill, is a second camp, double trenched, and called Woldbury. [1]

Fownhope is a village and civil parish in Herefordshire which includes the ancient chapel of ease of Fawley Chapel Gazetteer transcription by Colin Hinson and Woldbury.

Fownhope St Mary is an Ancient Parish and includes Fawley chapel within the parish boundaries.Fownhope St Mary

The church of St Mary dates from the 12th century and was restored in 1881; designated a grade I listed building By English Heritage British Listed Building It is one of the larger church buildings in Herefordshire.

See Fownhope wikipedia

Baptist and Plymouth Brethren churches were within the civil parish.

The church of St John the Baptist, Fawley Chapel Fawley Chapel St John the Baptist was formed within the Fownhope Ancient Parish and registers commence as early as 1539, but mostly from 1854.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
Fownhope with Fawley

Parish registers for St. John the Baptist Church, Fawley, 1854-1898

Census records

Census returns for Fownhope 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through theFHC Portalpage which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Hereford Poor Law Union, Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 255-259. Accessed and adapted 2 July 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 December 2014, at 16:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,495 times.