Foxholes, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Foxholes, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Driffield|
|Parish registers: 1654|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
FOXHOLES, a parish, in the union of Driffield, wapentake of Dickering, E. riding of York; containing the chapelry of Butterwick, 7 miles (N. E. by N.) from Sledmere. Church of England records began in 1654. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
FOXHOLES, a parish, in the union of Driffield, wapentake of Dickering, E. riding of York; containing, with the chapelry of Butterwick. Inhabitants are in the township of Foxholes with Boythorp, 7 miles (N. E. by N.) from Sledmere. The church is an ancient structure, consisting of a nave and chancel separated by a fine Norman arch. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Records from the Ryedale registration district held at the North Yorkshire Registration Service are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.
- Church of England marriages.
- Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
- Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.
A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index
Online data content from chapelry registers of Foxholes exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|FOXHOLES PARISH (1725) Online Records|
List of Chapelry's in this Parish
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Foxholes to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the FOXHOLES PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464217.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 12 January 2016, at 03:19.
- This page has been accessed 3,384 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News