Framingham Earl, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Framimgham Earl, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. {{Infobox England Jurisdictions

Framingham Earl, Norfolk
Framingham Earl St Andrew.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Henstead
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Henstead PLU
Registration District Henstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1721
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Brooke
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FRAMINGHAM, EARL (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union and hundred of Henstead, E. division of Norfolk, 5 miles (S. E.) from Norwich. [1]

Framingham Earl St Andrew is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

A Norman round tower church with 19th century renovation.

The writer W. G. (Winfried Georg) Maximilian Sebald (18 May 1944, Wertach im Allgäu – 14 December 2001) is buried here and lived locally before his death after a fatal heart attack whilst driving in Norwich.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Henstead 1837-1938 some early registration may be "Humbleyard & Henstead"
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church records

Framingham Earl, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
Framingham Earl, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1721-1753

FREG 1699-1837
1699-1837
1699-1837
FS ATs 1725-1811 1725-1811 1725-1811
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1707-1718

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 186/ 1-8, 60-62

This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content
Film
Baptisms 1726-1750, 1765, 1780-1811 Marriages 1732-1749, 1786-1811 Burials 1725-1750, 1765, 1780-1811
FHL BRITISH Film
1526787 Item 8

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438862.

Poor Law Unions

Henstead http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Henstead/Henstead.shtml

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 259-263 18 March 2013. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,966 times.