Frampton Cotterell, Gloucestershire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Frampton Cotterell, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Frampton Cotterell, Gloucestershire|
|Hundred||Langley and Swinehead|
|Poor Law Union||Chipping Sodbury PLU|
|Registration District||Chipping Sodbury|
|Parish registers: 1561|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Diocese||Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Gloucestershire Record Office|
FRAMPTON-COTTERELL (St. Peter), a parish,in the union of Chipping-Sodbury, Upper division of the hundred of Langley and Swinehead, W. division of the county of Gloucester, 5 miles (W. by S.) from Chipping-Sodbury; containing, with the hamlet of Wickwick, 1991 inhabitants. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288773.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 259-263. Date accessed: 04 December 2012.
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:49.
- This page has been accessed 1,750 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More