France - Birth - 1792-PresentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

'1.'Birth Certificate: Civil registration

Beginning 1792, the government required civil registrars to keep birth records. Usually these records included more information than the church christening records that were kept during the same time.

What you are looking for
Civil registers were the best source for determining when a person was born.

Why go to the next record
Not all of the French civil registry records have been microfilmed.

'2.'Baptism: Church records
Beginning in 1539, many churches required their clergy to keep christening (or baptism) records. The records may include birth dates. Information may be recorded on or after the date of birth. Information found in a christening depends on how detailed the minister made his record.

What you are looking for
Church christening records were the best source for determining when a person was born.

Why go to the next record
Not all of the French christening records have been microfilmed, and the beginning date of these records varies from place to place.

'3.'Marriage Register: Civil registration
Beginning in 1792, the government required civil registrars to keep marriage records. Usually these records included more information than the church marriage records that were kept during the same time.

What you are looking for
Couples were married when they were in their twenties and thirties. Marriage records may not give a birth or christening date, but they give the age of the bride and groom, making it possible to determine their approximate birth years.

Why go to the next record
Not all civil register marriage records have been microfilmed.

'4.'Parish Register, Marriage: Church records
Beginning in 1792, the government required civil registrars to keep marriage records. Usually these records included more information than the church marriage records that were kept during the same time.

What you are looking for
Couples were married when they were in their twenties and thirties. Marriage records may not give a birth or christening date, but they give the age of the bride and groom, making it possible to determine their approximate birth years.

Why go to the next record
Not all parish marriage records have been microfilmed, and the beginning date of these records varies from place to place.

'5.'Death Record: Civil registration
Beginning in 1792, the government required civil registrars to keep death records. These records often give the age or birth date of the deceased which can be used when birth and christening records are not available.

What you are looking for
When church marriage records do not exist, civil register death records are the best source for determining when a person was born. Death records may not give a birth or christening date, but they give a person's age, making it possible to determine his or her approximate birth year.

Why go to the next record
Not all civil register death records have been microfilmed.

'6.'Parish Register, Death: Church records
Beginning about 1539, churches required their clergy to keep burial records. Before civil registration began, the government required churches to submit a copy of these records. They give the age or date of birth of the deceased which can be used when birth and christening records are not available. These records may not begin the same year for every parish.

What you are looking for
When civil registry death records do not exist, parish burial records are the best source for determining when a person was born. Burial records may not give a birth or christening date, but they give a person's age, making it possible to determine his or her approximate birth year.

Why go to the next record
Not all burial records have been microfilmed, and the beginning date of these records varies from place to place.

'7.'Census: Census
The town's census records were not kept with any consistency or regularity. If an age is given, the records can be used to estimate a person's birth date. They can also help identify all the members of a family and help determine where a family originated.

What you are looking for
When church burial records do not exist, census records are the best source for determining when a person was born. Census records may not give a birth or christening date, but they give a person's age, making it possible to determine his or her approximate birth year.

Why go to the next record
Not all census records have been microfilmed, and the beginning date of these records varies from place to place.

'8.'Muster Rolls: Military records
Military records provide the date and place of birth of every male drafted in the army. The name of the father and his occupation may also be given. These records may also provide marriage and death information

What you are looking for
When citizenship records do not exist, military records are the best source for determining when a male person was born. Military records may not give a birth date, but they give a person's age, making it possible to determine his approximate birth year.

Why go to the next record
Not all military records have been microfilmed, and the beginning date of these records varies from place to place.

'9.'Probates: Notarial records
The district court's probate records may provide information about the birth, marriage, and death of an individual. They may also help identify all the members of a family.

What you are looking for
When military records do not exist, probate records are the best source for determining when a person was born. Probate records may not give a birth or christening date, but they give a person's age, making it possible to determine his or her approximate birth year.

Why go to the next record
Not all probate records have been microfilmed, and the beginning date of these records varies from place to place.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 September 2008, at 07:16.
  • This page has been accessed 3,252 times.