Franklin County, AlabamaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Alabama  Gotoarrow.png  Franklin County

Guide to Franklin County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Alabama
Online Records


Franklin County, Alabama
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 6, 1818
County Seat Russellville
Courthouse
Address Franklin County Courthouse
410 North Jackson Ave.
Russellville, AL 35653, (256) 332-8861 Franklin County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Franklin County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Franklin County Courthouse
410 North Jackson Ave.
Russellville, AL 35653, (256) 332-8861

Records burned 1890
Probate Judge has marriage, probate and land records from 1890
Clerk Circuit Court has court records from 1923 and divorce records[1]

History

Parent County

1818--Franklin County was created 6 February 1818 from the Cherokee and Chickasaw Cession of 1816.
County seat: Russellville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Fire.png
Franklin County had a destructive courthouse fire in 1890. See Research in Alabama: A Genealogical Guide  page 27 for suggested alternative sources to overcome this loss.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

For a list of record loss in Alabama counties see: Alabama Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Alfranklin.jpg

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Biography

Biographies of many notable residents of Franklin County, Alabama were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Begins on page 1027.

Cemeteries

Census

Franklin County, Alabama
Year Pop.  %±
1820 4,988
1830 11,078 122.1%
1840 14,270 28.8%
1850 19,610 37.4%
1860 18,627 −5.0%
1870 8,006 −57.0%
1880 9,155 14.4%
1890 10,681 16.7%
1900 16,511 54.6%
1910 19,369 17.3%
1920 22,011 13.6%
1930 25,372 15.3%
1940 27,552 8.6%
1950 25,705 −6.7%
1960 21,988 −14.5%
1970 23,933 8.8%
1980 28,350 18.5%
1990 27,814 −1.9%
2000 31,223 12.3%
2010 31,704 1.5%
For tips on accessing Franklin County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Franklin County, Alabama. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

  • Northern Alabama, Historical and Biographical. Birmingham, Ala.: Smith and De Land, 1888. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. Franklin County, Alabama begins on page 102.

Maps

 Military

Civil War, 1861-1865

Civil War service men from Franklin County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Franklin County.

- 1st Battalion, Alabama Artillery, Company F
- 2nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E
- 4th Regiment, Alabama Cavalry (Roddy's), Company E and L
- 5th Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company E
- 16th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A
- 16th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E and H
- 27th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A, B and G
- 35th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B and K




Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Franklin County, Alabama newspapers in online catalogs like:

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Franklin County, Alabama Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Franklin County, Alabama Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Franklin County is in District 3.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1823–1825, 1875, 1890–1902, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
  • 1890–1900 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920"at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
Death
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.

Voting Registers

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History.   Franklin County has one book.

Societies and Libraries

Libraries

Russellville Public Library
110 East Lawrence St.
Russellville, Alabama 35653
Telephone: 256-332-1535

Family History Centers

Helpful Websites

Franklin County Alabama Genealogy Websites

Franklin County Alabama Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Franklin County p. 37. ; .
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Marilyn Davis Barefield, Researching in Alabama: a Genealogical Guide (Birmingham, Alabama : Birmingham Public Library, 1998), 27. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 976.1 D27b 1998.
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/06/Igialabamadj.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 March 2014, at 02:01.
  • This page has been accessed 11,166 times.