Franklin County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Franklin County
Scenic View of Ozarks on White Rock Mountain, Franklin County, Arkansas

Guide to Franklin County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County QuickStart:

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records



Franklin County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Franklin County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 19, 1837
County Seat Ozark
Courthouse
Address Franklin County Courthouse
211 W Commercial Street
Ozark, AR 72949
Phone: 501.667.3607

Contents

County Courthouse

Franklin County Courthouse
211 W Commercial Street
Ozark, AR 72949
Phone: 501.667.3607

County Clerk has marriage records from 1850, probate records from 1838 and land records from 1899.[1]

Beginning years for Franklin County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1850 1914* 1852 1837 1838
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

Parent County

  • 1837--Franklin County was created 19 December 1837 from Crawford County.  County seat: Ozark [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There are no known marriage records from Franklin County between 1837 and late in 1849, apparently the first marriage book must have been destroyed. For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses


Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Crawford  • Johnson  • Logan  • Madison  • Sebastian

Franklin CountyJohnson CountyLogan CountySebastian CountyCrawford CountyWashington CountyMadison CountyNewton CountyPope CountyYell CountyScott CountyBenton CountyCarroll CountyBoone CountyAdair CountySequoyah CountyCherokee CountyLe Flore CountyMaskell CountyDelaware CountyARFranklin.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.


Court

Genealogy

  • Family biographies from The History of Franklin County, Arkansas (1889) published by Goodspeed are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Franklin County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • The area that became Franklin County has been inhabited since the end of the Ice Age, about 12,000 BC. Paleoindians hunted and gathered wild plants and other resources.
  • 1819-1828 - By treaty, the Cherokee controlled the county
  • 1828 - the Cherokee were removed to Indian Territory and the area was opened to settlement, people came from Kentucky, Tennessee, Louisiana, and surrounding states.
  • 1837 December 19 - was formed from Crawford County.
  • 1875 - The railroad came to Franklin County, and towns grew up along the line.
  • 1880s - The climate and terrain in northern Franklin County were suited to grape growing, and a group of Swiss and German farmers came to Altus and established wineries.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Franklin County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Franklin County, Arkansas:

- 7th Battalion, Arkansas Infantry (Desha) (Confederate)
- 34th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 35th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company E

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Franklin County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.


  • Probate Records 1835-1958 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and guardian record index no date; Administration bonds 1866-1918; Administration bonds and letters 1891-1935; Administration settlements 1866-1878; Chancery Court records 1891-1953; County Court records 1847-1860; General index 1852-1890; Guardian bonds and letters 1891-1940; Guardian settlements 1866-1891; Letters of administration 1865-1918; Letters of testamentary 1865-1936; Minutes 1870-1874; Probate packet index 1835-1958; Probate packets 1835-1958; Probate record index 1860-1898; Probate records 1838-1915; Wills 1892-1947.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

See also Arkansas Vital Records Online and Arkansas Statewide Indexes and Collections at the Family History Library.


See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
  • 1947-1965 - Franklin County Birth Index 1947-1965. Batch C744007 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Marriage
Death
  • 1954 - Franklin County Death Index 1954. Batch B000456 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Franklin County, Arkansas
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Franklin County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Arkansas History Commission AR state agency involved in organizing and maintaining state and local history of AR
See also local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Franklin County, Arkansas
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Franklin County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Franklin County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 67.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), pp. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.
  6. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 July 2014, at 20:55.
  • This page has been accessed 8,447 times.