Franklin County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
Franklin County
Guide to Franklin County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Franklin County, Georgia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Georgia | |
![]() Location of Georgia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 25, 1784 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Carnesville |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Franklin County Courthouse Courthouse Square PO Box 159 Carnesville, GA 30521 Phone: 706.384.2483 Franklin County Website |
Franklin County Georgia Courthouse
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1900
and land records from 1860; some reccords prior to 1850 in
Georgia Archives[1]
Franklin County Georgia History
Parent County
1784--Franklin County was created 25 February 1784 from Creek Indian Lands.
County seat: Carnesville[2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Franklin County Georgia Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Franklin County Georgia Genealogy Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Franklin County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Maps
Military
Civil War
- Ledford, Karen Ann Thompson. These Men Wore Grey Genealogical, Military, and Interment Records of Confederate Soldiers. (Toccoa, Georgia : K.T. Ledford, c1998-c2001), 7 Volumes. Each volume contains bibliographical references and full-name index. Contents: v. 1. Franklin County -- v. 2. Habersham County --v. 3. Stephens County -- v. 4. Rabun County --v. 5. White County -- v. 6. Banks County -- v. 7. Jackson County. Book found at FHL 975.8 V3L and Other Libraries.
Newspapers
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Franklin County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog. Do a Place search for Franklin County, Georgia to find these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Franklin County probate records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:
- Digital Images of Wills 1786-1813. See list of testators. {http://www.georgiapioneers.com/counties/countyfranklin.html Georgia Pioneers]
- Wills, Appraisements, Inventories 1786-1813 (digital images). See list of testators. Georgia Pioneers
- Wills and Estates, Book B, 1814-1824 (digital images). See list of testators. Georgia Pioneers
- Wills and Estates, Book C, 1824-1849 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
- Wills 1899-1900 (digital images). See list o testators. Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Wills 1848-1865 Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Index to Wills, Inventories, Guardians 1814-1829 Georgia Pioneers ($)
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Marriage
- 1805-1850 - Franklin County Marriage Index 1805-1850. Batch M712871 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1847-1882 - Franklin County Marriage Index 1847-1882. Batch M712872 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1881-1895 - Franklin County Marriage Index 1881-1895. Batch M712873 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1893-1895 - Franklin County Marriage Index 1893-1895. Batch M712874 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Death
- 1859-60 - Franklin County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Franklin County Georgia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Franklin County Georgia Genealogy Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Franklin County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers ($)
Franklin County Georgia Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Franklin County, Georgia. Page 155 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.
| This Georgia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 30 May 2013, at 01:31.
- This page has been accessed 2,213 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

