Franklin County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Illinois;Gotoarrow.png Franklin County

Guide to Franklin County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records

Coordinates: 37.99°0′N 88.92°0′W / 37.99°N 88.92°W / 37.99; -88.92

Franklin County, Illinois
Map
Map of Illinois highlighting Franklin County
Location in the state of Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: January 2, 1818
County Seat Benton
Courthouse
Franklin County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Franklin County Courthouse
202 West Main Street
Benton, Illinois 62812
Franklin County Website

Contents

County Organization

Franklin County's civil records start the following years:

Beginning Dates for Franklin County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1877 1836 1877 1820 1835 1837

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Franklin County are kept, see the Franklin County Courthouse page.

Historical Records

Benjamin Franklin County is named for the well known Benjamin Franklin of colonial days.

Benjamin Franklin.JPG

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

18 November 1843:' Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses


For further information on researching in burned counties, see the Burned Counties Research

Records and Resources

Cemeteries

The Illinois Cemeteries page provides general explanations of the following online Franklin County resources:

Bibliography Online Gravestone Transcriptions Cemetery Gazetteers
FamilySearch Catalog Find A Grave | national search | county list ePodunk
WorldCat USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project  Cemetery Location Project
Interment.net ILGenWeb
Illinois Cemeteries
Illinois Ancestors Tombstone Project
Cemeteries of Franklin County
Franklin County Cemeteries Hinton-Gen
Confederate Soldiers of Franklin County
Illinois Gravestones.org

The Lithuanian Cemetery of West Frankfort

Census

For information and tips on using and accessing online census records, see Illinois Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18201,763
18304,083131.6%
18403,682−9.8%
18505,68154.3%
18609,39365.3%
187012,65234.7%
188016,12927.5%
189017,1386.3%
190019,67514.8%
191025,94331.9%
192057,293120.8%
193059,4423.8%
194053,137−10.6%
195048,685−8.4%
196039,281−19.3%
197038,329−2.4%
198043,20112.7%
199040,319−6.7%
200039,018−3.2%
1840 Pensioners
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Franklin County on page 186.]

Church Records

Copies of Original records

  • 1854–1915 Methodist Episcopal Church records. Southern Illinois Conference. FHL film 1005556 Items 1–5
  • 1857–1868 Statistics of Bethel Congregation from October 6, 1857 when D. S. Faris was ordained pastor and onward : ca. 1857-1868 FHL film 1698296 Item 7

Histories

Belleville Diocese Catholic Churches

FamilySearch has made parish records from seven Belleville Diocese Catholic churches in Franklin County available online (requires free registration). The records include first communions, confirmations, marriages, and deaths:


Court Records

See Illinois Court Records for information about how to use county court records.

Court records are held in both offices of the Circuit Court Clerk and County Clerk

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) Collection

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through: IRAD-Southern Illinois University (SIU) and search for Franklin County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the SIU IRAD Wiki page.

  • Circuit Court
1837-1870 Circuit Court Record
1851-1893 Circuit Court Issue Dockets
1870-1924 Circuit Court Record, Chancery
1870-1964 Circuit Court Record, Common Law
1871-1946 Circuit Court Record, Criminal
1873-1927 Circuit Court Indictment Record
  • County Court
1872-1964 County Court Record, Common Law
1872-1964 County Court Record, Criminal
1893-1916 Insanity Dockets
1893-1952 Insanity Record
1915-1942 Feeble-Minded Dockets
1923-1940 Dependent and Delinquent Children Record
1914-1941 Mother's Pension Records and Accounts
1930-1937 Mother's Pension Order Record
1874-1955 Jail Registers (See Sheriff's office)
  • City Court
1915-1962 Benton City Court Record
1914-1952 West Frankfort City Court Records and Naturalization Records.

Family History Library Collection

The following copies of records may be accessed through the Family History Library

Description and Travel

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy

Mailing Lists

Message Boards

History

  • History of Gallatin, Saline, Hamilton, Franklin, and Williamson Counties, Illinois: From the Earliest Time to the Present, Together with Sundry and Interesting Biographical Sketches, Notes, Reminiscences, Etc., Etc. Chicago: Goodspeed, 1887. Digital versions at Ancestry ($); Internet Archive. FHL Film 873820 Item 1

Land and Property

See Gotoarrow.png Illinois Land and Property for more information.

Original land records for Franklin County are held with the County Clerk

Franklin County "is well watered by Little Muddy river on the West, Big Muddy and its branches through the center. It is quiet, level and is largely prairie. The land is not well adapted to farming, although modern farming methods with liberal use of limestone are producing many fine farms...Slaves were held in Franklin County by the leading families until 1824, and then were taken to Missouri and sold. In some cases they were brought back to Franklin county and manumitted...The land not being very rich, the settlement of the county was slow. The law of 1854 changed the price of land in Illinois from $1.25 per acre to 12 1/2 cents per acre. Thousands of acres of land was purchased from the government under the "Bit Act." When Congress granted the land for the Illinois Central Railroad, 33,078 acres of the grant fell within the limits of Franklin county." [2]

The following abstracts or copies of records may be accessed through the Family History Library:

Online Resources

Maps

Ilfranklin.jpg

Medical Records

Military

Multiple Wars

  • Pension applications, Franklin County, Illinois, compiled by Carla Pulliam, ([Benton, Illinois?] : C. Pulliam, c1998). FHL Book 977.394 M2pu Includes pension applications for the Revolutionary War, War of 1812, Mexican War, Black Hawk War Civil War.
  • Discharges, Civil War and Spanish American War, by Susan Doxsie Dorris, ([S.l. : s.n.], c1993). FHL Book 977.394 M2d
  • Franklin County, Illinois, War History, 1832-1919: Containing a Brief Review of the World War, Complete History of Franklin County's Activities, Photographs and Service Records of Franklin County's Soldiers, Sailors and Marines, Industrial and Biographical Review of Business and Professional Firms Who Have Made This History Possible; pub. 1920. Reprint 1977 Ancestry ($), FHL film 1036411 Item 3, Book 977.394 M2b 1977
  • An index to the above is: Greenwood, Marie. Index of Franklin County Illinois War History, (Originally Published, 1920.). Index of Franklin County Illinois War History. (Originally published, 1920). Carterville, Ill.: Genealogy Society of Southern Illinois, 1975. Ancestry ($).

Civil War

Civil War service men from Franklin County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Franklin County.

- 15th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company C (Dollins' Cavalry Company) and Company F.
- 31st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I.
- 40th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A and F.
- 56th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies E and I.
- 63rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company F.
- 89th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- 110th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, F, K, and I.
- 128th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A and C.
- 136th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company A.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Naturalization records for Franklin County are held in the offices of the Circuit Court and County Clerk.

The following copies of naturalization records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Franklin County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk (618) 439-2011. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

The following abstracts and copies of records may be accessed through the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Franklin County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

Periodicals

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives

Inventory of the county archives of Illinois, no. 28, Franklin County (Benton) FHL film 908133 Item 2, Book 977.394 A5h

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Franklin County are kept, see the Franklin County Courthouse page.

Family History Centers    

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Southern Illinois University houses the records for Franklin County.

Public Libraries

West Frankfort Public Library
402 E. Poplar
West Frankfort, Illinois 62896
Phone: 618-932-3313
Fax: 618-932-3313
Hours:
Sunday - Closed
Monday - Thursday 10 am - 7 pm
Friday 10 am - 6 pm
Saturday 11 am - 5 pm

Schools

Social Groups Online

Societies

West Franklin Historical District & Silkwood Inn Museum P.O. Box 601

2130 School House Road

Mulkeytown, Illinois 62865

(618) 724-2445


Taxation

Vital Records

See Gotoarrow.png Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.


Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Franklin County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health. with a copy to the County Clerk. Marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.

The following abstracts and copies of records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Franklin County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the SIU IRAD Wiki page.

Births

Marriages

Divorces

Deaths

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.; Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002 WorldCat 50140092, FHL Book 973 D27e 2002
  2. Harry L. Frier, Historical Sketch of Franklin County [Franklin County Illinois War History: 1832-1919], 1920. As cited at: http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~ilfrankl/history/index.html

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:37.
  • This page has been accessed 27,279 times.