Franklin County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Franklin County

Guide to Franklin County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Franklin County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 27, 1810
County Seat Brookville
Courthouse
Address Franklin County Courthouse
634 Main Street
Brookville, IN 47012-1405
Phone: 765.647.3322
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1811*
1882*
1811
1811
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Created by a legislative act dated November 27, 1810.  Formed 1 Feb 1811 from Clark and Dearborn. [1]
  • County Seat: Brookville [2]

Neighboring Counties

Union  • Fayette  • Rush  • Decatur  • Ripley  • Dearborn  • Butler  • Hamilton  • Preble

Franklin CountyFayette CountyRush CountyShelby CountyDecatur CountyFloyd CountyDearborn CountyOhio CountySwitzerland CountyHamilton CountyButler CountyPreble CountyWarren CountyMontgomery CountyJennings CountyRipley CountyBartholomew CountyClermont CountyBoone CountyKenton CountyCampbell CountyGallatin CountyPendleton CountyUnion CountyGrant CountyINFranklin.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

For tips on accessing Franklin County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Franklin County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Diaries

Jerome Wiley's Journal Franklin County, Indiana 1841-1891

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Franklin County, Indiana. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information.

For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Indiana Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Franklin County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Franklin County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Franklin County

Civil War Books

  • "Civil War" in "Military History of Franklin County" Chapter 12 of Reifel, August J. History of Franklin County, Indiana; Her People, Industries and Institutions. (Indianapolis, Ind: B.F. Bowen, 1915.), (page 292-315, Regiment, Companies, some Name's)  FHL US/CAN Film 934904 Item 3 FHL Collection  other libraries    INTERNET ARCHIVE
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Occupations

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Probate records are court records created after an individual’s death that relate to a court’s decisions regarding the distribution of the estate to the heirs or creditors and the care of any dependents. These documents are important to family history researchers because they usually exist for time periods before civil birth and death records were kept. While probate records are one of the most accurate sources of genealogical evidence, they have limitations. The Circuit Court has responsibility for the probate records of Franklin County.

The following Franklin County probate records have been indexed and abstracted:

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Franklin County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records
Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Franklin County Courthouse
634 Main Street
Brookville, IN 47012-1405
Phone: 765.647.3322

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1811.
County Recorder has land records from 1811.
County Health Department has birth and death records from 1882.
Public Library has cemetery records from from 1817
and naturalization records from 1820. [3]

Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Franklin County, Indiana is the

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.


Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Franklin County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Web Sites

Places

References

  1. August J. Reifel, History of Franklin County Indiana Her People, Industries and Institutions. (Indianapolis: B.F. Bowen & Company, Inc., 1915), pages 78-79, images 157-158; digital images. Internet Archive (https://archive.org/details/historyoffrankli00reif : accessed 7 May 2014).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Franklin County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Franklin_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Franklin County, Indiana 212 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:23.
  • This page has been accessed 17,558 times.