Franklin County, New York CourthouseEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png New YorkGotoarrow.pngFranklin County Gotoarrow.png Courthouse

Ancestors may have also been involved in municipal, state, or federal court cases. See also New York Court Records and United States Court Records.


Ny-franklin-ch.png

County Clerk

Franklin County Clerk
P.O. Box 70
355 West Main Street, Suite 248
Malone, NY 12953
Phone: 518-481-1681
Fax: 518-483-9143
Email: wmurtagh@co.franklin.ny.us
Hours: M-F from 8am to 4pm
Copy costs are $.65 per page, and if they do the research, the cost is $10 per hour search fee.

The records management division of the County Clerk office has cards of naturalization that begin in 1856 and have name, date of arrival, date of naturalization, residence, and witnesses. There are some naturalization paperwork from the 1930s, and they have a list of ones they have which you may call to see if your ancestors are on that list. There is also a book of marriages from 1908 to 1935 and the cost is $5 per certificate requested. They have Federal census records from 1850 to 1930, but there is not index and are only searchable by town. They have State Censuses for 1875, 1905, 1915, and1925 and an index is available. The Franklin county clerk has land records(including deeds and mortgages) that began in 1808. Criminal court cases are housed here, but are not public record unless they are convicted, so call to see if your case is public and may be copied. Birth, marriage and death records are not at the County Clerk's office but may be obtained by contacting each town clerk.

Surrogate Court

Franklin County Surrogate Court
355 West Main Street, Suite 3223
Malone, NY, 12953
Phone: 518-481-1736
Fax: 518-481-1443
Email: mlabarge@courts.state.ny.us
All Franklin County Surrogate Court estate files are available on the fourth floor of the courthouse. They have probate, administrations, wills, and guardianship records that start in the mid 1800s. The Court Clerk will look to see how many pages a probate file is and will send a list of what is in the file so you can decide if you want the entire file or just a part. They have a computer index of probate files. Surrogate Courts also handle adoptions but those records are all sealed. Copies are $.25 a page. Their hours are M-F from 9am to 5 pm. They are not open on Saturdays. Questions are answered by email or on phone.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 January 2012, at 20:10.
  • This page has been accessed 1,648 times.