Franklin County, VermontEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Franklin County, Vermont ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Vermont Gotoarrow.png Franklin County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Vermont
Online Records
Franklin County, Vermont
Map
Map of Vermont highlighting Franklin County
Location in the state of Vermont
Facts
Founded November 5, 1792
County Seat Saint Albans
Courthouse
Address Franklin County Courthouse
PO Box 808
Saint Albans , VT 05478
802-524-2739
802-524-3863
Fax: 802-524-7996


Franklin County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County clerk has divorce and court records from 1900; town clerks have birth, marriage, death, burial and land; probate judge has probate records.

Towns Organized Before 1800:
Bakersfield 1791,
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Franklin County, Vermont
Berkshire 1781,
Enosburg 1780,
Fairfax 1763,
Fairfield 1763,
Fletcher 1781,
Franklin 1789,
Georgia 1763,
Highgate 1763,
Montgomery 1789,
Richford 1780,
Sheldon 1763,
Swanton 1763,
St. Albans 1763[1]

Quick Facts

Parent County

Boundary Changes

9 November 1802, Grand Isle County set off.

For animated maps illustrating Vermont County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Vermont County Boundary Maps" (1764-1895) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Places / Localities

VermontFranklin CountyOrleans CountyLamoille CountyChittenden CountyGrand Isle CountyQuebecFlecherFairfaxGeorgiaSaint AlbansSaint Albans CitySwantonHighgateFranklinSheldonFairfieldBakersfieldEnosburgBerkshireRichfordMontgomeryJayTroyWestfieldLowellCraftsburyHyde ParkEdenJohnsonMorristownCambridgeWatervilleBelvidereUnderhillWestfordEssexColchesterMiltonSouth HeroGrand IsleNorth HeroIslela MottAlburgLacolleLacolleSaint ValentinSaint PaulNoyanHenry VilleSaint-Georges-de-ClarencevilleSaint SebastienVenise-enSaint PierreStanbridge StationSaint ArmandBedfordStanbridgeDunhamFrelighsburgAbercornSuttonPotton
Modern town borders in Franklin County, Vermont.


  Towns and City:

Extinct Town:   • Smithfield[2]

Villages:   • Enosburg Falls   • Swanton

Neighboring Counties

Chittenden | Grand Isle | Lamoille | Orleans | Quebec counties: Brome | Missisquoi

Resources

Archives and Libraries

Cemeteries

Church Records

Court records

Gazetteers

Land and Property

Maps

Vtfranklin.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Franklin County for European settlers included:[3]

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments and Companies:

- 2nd Regiment, Vermont Infantry
- 13th Regiment, Vermont Infantry
- 5th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Company A and C

Newspapers

Probate Records

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Vermont, Franklin County Probates (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Vermont Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Vermont <a title="Vermont Birth Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/birth_form.aspx" target="_blank">Birth Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Marriage Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/marriage_form.aspx" target="_blank">Marriage Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Divorce Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/divorce_form.aspx" target="_blank">Divorce Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Death Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/deathcert_form.aspx" target="_blank">Death Certificate</a> Applications to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Vermont Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 698. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 395. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.
  3. Handybook, 847-61.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 December 2014, at 18:00.
  • This page has been accessed 9,531 times.