Frant, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Frant, Kent)

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex/Kent Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Frant, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Frant, Sussex
Frant St Alban East Sussex.jpg
Frant St Alban East Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rotherfield
County Kent
Poor Law Union Ticehurst PLU
Registration District Ticehurst
Records begin
Parish registers: 1543
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pevensey
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FRANT, a parish, in the union of Ticehurst, partly in the hundred of Washlingstone, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, but chiefly in the hundred of Rotherfield, rape of Pevensey, E. division ofSussex, 2½ miles (S. by E.) from Tonbridge-Wells. [1]


Frant is a village and civil parish in East Sussex .

The Ancient Parish of St Alban was partly in Kent and partly in Sussex and included Hawkenbury. The Local Government Act 1894 required county boundaries and ecclesiastical boundaries  to be aligned and the larger part of the parish was in Sussex. Prior to 1894 the parish may be referred to as in Kent (part)

The church of St Alban is part of the Frant with Eridge benefice in the Diocese of Chichester, Rotherfield Deanery.The village and civil parish of Frant is in the Wealden district of East Sussex Frant Wikipedia a list of places to worship in Wealden Wikipedia

A history of the church and parish is available at Sussex Parish Churches Frant St Alban

The church of St Alban has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Frant Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC) redirects to this page.


Resources

Civil Registration


For civil registration history see Ticehurst registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Frant, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Frant, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1604-1627, 1880-1887
1539-1754, 1881-1886

FMP 1545-1881
1544-1881

IGI 1543-1881 1543-1881

Family History Library film numbers
Frant

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. 

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464163.




Poor Law Unions

Ticehurst Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 259-263. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. 'Frant, Sussex, Baptisms, Coverage', FindMyPast, accessed 30 December 2013.
  4. 'Billingshurst, Sussex, Marriages, Coverage', FindMyPast, accessed 31 December 2013.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 20:10.
  • This page has been accessed 4,279 times.