Free State, South AfricaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

South Africa Gotoarrow.png Free State

Guide to Free State, South Africa ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.


Contents

Historical Overview

History

Free Statia : reminiscences of a lifetime in the Orange Free State - Available on microfilm from the Family History Library.

Localities

List of cities and towns in the Free State.

Maps and gazetteers

A comprehensive set of maps of the Free State, South Africa.

Records

Cemeteries

Bloemfontein (Hamilton) Was Cemetery grave listings

Free State, South Africa Cemeteries - War graves project.

Bethelem Cemetery - Van Heerden Family Tree listings

Grave yards in Free State (The Genealogical Society of South Africa)

Find A Grave records for Free State, South Africa

Census

Church records

Dutch Reformed Church (NGK)

The Dutch Reform Church records collection on FamilySearch includes records from 1848 to 1956.

Dutch Reformed Church (NHK)
Reformed Church (GK)
Methodist
Anglican
Catholic

Parish registers, Catholic Church, Mission, Tempe (Orange Free State), 1869-1930 - microfilm available from the Family History Library.

Other

Civil Registration

Deaths
Marriages

Immigration/Emigration

Genealogy

Land records

Orange Free State (South Africa). Registrar of Deeds, 1848-1934.

Orange Free State (South Africa). Land Board - Property claims, confiscations and forfeitures, 1853-1866.

Occupations


Probate records

See here for a description of what death notices are and where they are located.

South Africa, Orange Free State, Estate Files, 1951-2006 - Images of estate files from The Master of Supreme Court in Bloemfontein.  

Index of Surnames for complete files in the 1951 Free State Estate Files collection on familysearch.org

The Family History Library has microfilm of Estate files, Orange Free State, 1832-1989.

School records

Tax records

Web Sites

Microfilm available at the Family History Library

Further Reading


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 November 2014, at 13:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,214 times.