Fresno County, CaliforniaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go toCaliforniago to Fresno County

Guide to Fresno County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg California
Online Records


Fresno County, California
Map
Map of California highlighting Fresno County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 19, 1856
County Seat Fresno
Courthouse
Address Fresno County Courthouse
2221 Kern St
Fresno, CA 93721
Phone 559.488.3003 
Fresno County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


County Clerk has birth, marriage, and death records from 1855[1]


Historical Facts

Fresno County was created 19 April 1856 from Merced and Mariposa counties. Parts were taken for Kings 22 March 1893, Madera 11 March 1893 and Mono 24 April 1861. Named for Fresno Creek. Fresno in Spanish means "ash tree", because of abundance of mountain ash in the area.

Parent County

19 April 1856: Fresno County was created from Mariposa, Merced and Tulare Counties.
County seat: Fresno [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in California counties see: California Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

  • Cities: Clovis | Coalinga | Firebaugh | Fowler | Fresno | Huron | Kerman | Kingsburg | Mendota | Orange Cove | Parlier | Reedley | San Joaquin | Sanger | Selma |
  • Unincorporated Communities: Auberry | Big Creek | Biola | Calwa | Cantua Creek | Caruthers | Centerville | DelRey | Dunlap | Easton | Friant | Highway City | Lanare | Laton | Mercey Hot Springs | Minkler | Pinedale | Prather | Raisin City | Riverdale | Rolinda | Shaver Lake | Squaw Valley | Tarpey Village | Tollhouse | Tranquillity

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Academy Cemetery [1] Directions: Highway 99 North to Highway 41 North, continue on Highway 41 North, exit on Highway 168 East toward Academy, Prather and Auberry, continue on Highway 168 to Mendocino Road, turn Left go to end of road where Academy Cemetery is located. The cemetery is located North of Highway 168, before you reach the pioneer community of Academy, California. It is in the foothills on Big Dry Creek about 20 miles from Fresno, California. The cemetery is on a little knoll set about with graceful live oaks. People have moved away, wooden markers have decayed or burned in accidental fires, and no one knows all who have been buried there or where. The land was donated by Sarah Ann Simpson, March 2, 1890. This was a family cemetery until June 25, 1913, when it was joined to the Clovis Cemetery District.

Augustine Creek Cemetery Location: Next to Augustine Creek, West of Picacho, Old Coalinga Road. Taken from information given by Murrey Eads of King City, California.

Akers Cemetery Trimmer Springs Road, Centerville, CaliforniaAlso known as Old Kings River and Scottsburg Cemetery Directions: Highway 99 North, to Highway 41 North, exit on Highway 180, continue on Highway 180 to the community of Centerville, California located approximately 16.7 miles from Fresno, California. Turn left (northeast) on Trimmer Springs Road approximately in the center of Centerville, travel approximately 2 miles from Centerville, across from the Kings River, a length of woven-wire encloses an acre or more of land now grown up with wood and nettles and the lush native grasses.

Anderson Akers Cemetery Directions: Highway 99 South to Highway 41 South, continue on Highway 41 South to Highway 198 West, turn Right on Highway 198 West to Coalinga, California. Cemetery is located at Los Gatos Canyon, Coalinga California. This is approximately 70 miles southwest of Fresno, California.

Ararat Cemetery 1929 W. Belmont Avenue, Fresno, California 93728 See Mountain View Cemetery information.

Anderson Akers Cemetery Directions: Highway 99 South to Highway 41 South, continue on Highway 41 South to Highway 198 West, turn Right on Highway 198 West to Coalinga, California. Cemetery is located at Los Gatos Canyon, Coalinga California. This is approximately 70 miles southwest of Fresno, California. . Ararat Masis Cemetery 250 N. Hughes Avenue, Fresno, California See Mountain View Cemetery information.

Auberry Cemetery [2]Directions to Auberry: Highway 99 North to Highway 41 North continue on Highway 41 North to Herndon Avenue Exit, turn Right on Herndon Avenue to Highway 168, turn Left toward Prather/Auberry, and continue on Highway 168 to Prather, California, continue on Highway 168 to Auberry, California, approximately 32 miles from Fresno, California. Auberry Cemetery is located two miles East of Auberry on the road to Shaver Lake.

Auberry/Prather Cemetery Also known as Grabner Cemetery Directions to Prather, California: Highway 99 North to Highway 41 North continue on Highway 41 North to continue on Highway 168 to Prather, California, approximately 32 miles from Fresno, California. The cemetery is located one mile East of Marshall Station on the North side of Auberry Road. The cemetery was established in the 1870’s. Augustine Creek Burial This simple little grave is located next to Augustine Creek, just west of Picacho on the Old Coalinga Road.

Belmont Memorial Park 201 N. Teilman Avenue, Fresno, California 93706 Directions: Highway 99 North, take the Belmont Exit, Turn right on W. Belmont Avenue, go to N. Pacific Avenue, Turn right. (N. Pacific Avenue becomes N. Teilman Avenue), Take N. Teilman Avenue, to address above. Belmont Memorial Park is located on Teilman Avenue approximately 3 miles from downtown Fresno. The oldest marked burial is 1874. All graves were transferred from other cemeteries. Belmont Cemetery was started in August, 1926. This is a very beautiful cemetery and well kept. As you turn into the main gate it is very surprising to see this lovely park-like setting and the peaceful atmosphere.

Bethany Evangelical Lutheran Church CemeteryAlso known as Vinland Cemetery Directions: Highway 99 North to the Shaw Avenue Exit, turn right (west) on Shaw to Highway 145 (there is a large white church at the corner, turn right on Highway 145 go one-half mile to Barstow Avenue, turn Left, (west). The cemetery is on the right. The cemetery is very easy to miss so you will need to watch for a chain link fence. The cemetery property runs north of Barstow to the San Joaquin River. The cemetery is in 2 two separate parcels, one by Barstow Avenue the other by the river. The Russian Molokan Cemetery sits between the two Bethany cemeteries.

Bethel Cemetery Directions: Highway 99 South, Exit at American Avenue, turn Left on American Avenue, to McCall Avenue and turn Left, go to Central Avenue, Turn Right to Bethel Cemetery. The cemetery is on the Left side of the road with two large, white pillars at the entrance. The earliest burials visible on the monuments are in the middle 1870’s . The cemetery is well kept but there are many unidentified cement markers, indicating there is much information that has been lost.

Beth Israel Cemetery W. Belmont Avenue, Fresno, California 93728 For directions to Beth Israel Cemetery, call Temple Beth Israel, located on 6622 N. Maroa Avenue, Fresno, California 93704. Phone No. (559) 432-3600.

Calvary Cemetery Hughes and Franklin Avenue, Fresno, California See Mountain View Cemetery information.

Centerville Cemetery Directions: Highway 99 South of Fresno to Highway 41 North, exit on Highway 180 East, continue on Highway 180 East to the community of Centerville, California located approximately 16.7 miles from Fresno, California.

Chapel of Light Cemetery

Directions to Auberry: Highway 99 North to Highway 41 North continue on Highway 41 North to Herndon Avenue Exit, turn Right on Herndon Avenue to Highway 168, turn Left toward Prather/Auberry, and continue on Highway 168 to Prather, California, continue on Highway 168 to Auberry, California, approximately 32 miles from Fresno, California.

Chrisman Cemetery Coalinga, California Directions to Coalinga: Highway 99 South to Highway 41 South, continue on Highway 41 South to Highway 198, turn Right and continue on Highway 198 to Coalinga, California. The cemetery is located on Los Gatos Canyon Road in Coalinga, California. No other information is available at this time.

Clovis Cemetery 305 N. Villa Avenue, Clovis, California 93612 Directions: Highway 99 North, to Highway 41 North, take Highway 41 North to Herndon Avenue Exit, go East on Herndon Avenue to Villa Avenue, Turn Right on Villa Avenue to address above. Cemetery is on left as you make the turn on Villa Avenue. The oldest marked grave is 1837. The land for the Clovis Cemetery was donated by the Woodsmen of the World. Clovis became a cemetery district in 1925.

Del Rey Cemetery Also known as Prairie Cemetery Directions: Highway 99 South to American Avenue Exit, turn Left on E. American Avenue, turn Left to stay on E. American Avenue, continue to McCall Avenue and turn Right, Del Rey Cemetery is on the Right side of McCall Avenue immediately after you turn onto McCall Avenue.

Dunlap Cemetery Directions to Dunlap, California: Highway 99 North to Highway 41 North, take Highway 41 North, exit on Highway 180 East, continue on Highway 180 to Dunlap Sign, turn right then slight left onto Dunlap Road to community of Dunlap, California. Dunlap, California is located approximately 40 miles from Fresno, California and the cemetery is 3 miles South of Dunlap near the Ruth Hill and Sans Baker Road

Fairview Cemetery McKinley & Greenwood Avenue, Sanger, California 93657 Directions: Highway 99 North to Highway 41 North to Shaw Avenue Exit, Turn East on Shaw, continue on Shaw Avenue to Temperance Avenue, turn Right (south) to East McKinley Avenue, continue on E. McKinley Avenue to Greenwood Avenue. The Cemetery is on the on the left side of McKinley Avenue.

Floral Memorial Park 2950 Thompson Avenue, Selma, California 93662 Directions: Highway 99 South to the Manning Avenue exit No. 121, bear to the right onto the ramp to Reedley College, bear Right at E. Manning Avenue, turn Right at S. Golden State Blvd., continue on Whitson Street, turn left at Floral Avenue, turn Right at Thompson to the above address.

Fowler Cemetery 8523 S. Fowler Avenue, Fowler, California 93625 Directions: Highway 99 South of Fresno to Merced Street Exit, stay straight to go to S. Fowler Avenue, to the above address. Fowler, California is approximately 12 miles South of Fresno, California.

Fresno’s Armenian Cemeteries Directions: Highway 99 North to Highway 180 West, merge onto Hughes West Diagonal, Hughes West Diagonal becomes S. Hughes Avenue, stay on S. Hughes Avenue to W. Belmont Avenue. Cemetery is located on the corner of S. Hughes Avenue and W. Belmont Avenue. The Armenian Cemeteries are in the Mt. View Cemetery. Ararat and Masis Ararat Cemeteries have served the Armenian Community of Fresno County since 1890. Ararat is named after the resting place of the Ark (Mt. Ararat) and Masis Ararat after the smaller mountain to the side.

Fresno County Cemetery (New) (Old) Belmont and Hughes Avenues, Fresno, California Directions: Highway 99 North take Belmont Avenue Exit, turn left on W. Belmont Avenue to Hughes Avenue. The New Cemetery is located at Belmont and Hughes Avenue behind the Chinese Cemetery. The Old abandoned Fresno County Cemetery is in the Mt. View Cemetery behind the Beth Israel Cemetery.

Fresno Memorial Gardens 175 S. Cornelia Avenue, Fresno, California 93706 Directions: Highway 99 North to Highway 180 Exit 133 toward Mendota/Kings Canyon, take the 180 West ramp, continue on Highway 180 West to Hughes-West Diagonal, bear Right and head toward W. Whitesbridge Avenue, continue on W. Whitesbridge Avenue, continue on W. Whites Bridge Road, turn Left on S. Cornelia Avenue to address above. The cemetery was established in 1949.

Fresno Pet Cemetery Directions: Highway 99 North, take the Belmont Exit, Turn right on W. Belmont Avenue, go to N. Pacific Avenue, Turn right. (N. Pacific Avenue becomes N. Teilman Avenue), Take N. Teilman Avenue, to Nielson Avenue, turn Right. The cemetery is located on the left (south) side of Nielson Avenue.

Grangeville Cemetery 10428 14th Avenue, Armona, California 93230 Directions: Highway 99 South to Highway 41 South, to Highway 198 East toward Armona, travel East to 14th Avenue, turn Left to address above. This pioneer cemetery is near the present town of Armona in Kings County to the south of Fresno. Shaded by tall Italian Cypress trees, the stately marble and granite monuments and rounded brick vaults are the final resting places of many Kings, Tulare and Fresno County pioneers. The earliest date on a monument is 1867. Removals from early family local sites are frequently found in the existing cemeteries.

Golden Sunset Memorial Park 310 S. Goldenrod Avenue, Kerman, California 93630 Directions: Highway 99 North to Highway 180 Exit 133 toward Mendota/Kings Canyon, take the 180 West ramp, continue on Highway 180 West to Hughes-West Diagonal, bear Right and head toward W. Whitesbridge Avenue, continue on W. Whitesbridge Avenue, continue on W. Whites Bridge Road towards Kerman, California to Goldenrod Avenue, turn Left on Goldenrod to the cemetery located on the left side of S. Goldenrod Avenue.

Holy Cross Cemetery Also known as Fresno Catholic Cemeteries 264 N. Blythe, Fresno California Directions: Highway 99 North to Highway 180 Exit 133 toward Mendota/Kings Canyon, take the 180 West ramp, continue on Highway 180 West to Hughes-West Diagonal, bear Right and head toward W. Whitesbridge Avenue, continue on W. Whitesbridge Avenue, continue on W. Whites Bridge Road to N. Blythe Avenue, turn Right to Fresno Catholic Cemeteries located on the right side of N. Blythe Avenue.

Hughes Creek Cemetery Directions to Piedra, California: Highway 99 North to Highway 41 North to Highway 180, take Highway 180 East for approximately 11 miles to N. Piedra Road, turn Left then Right to Piedra, California. The cemetery is located above Piedra and is on private property at Hughes Creed Road north of Trimmer Springs Road and Pine Flat Dam, Piedra, California.

Indian Missionary Cemetery Auberry, California Directions to Auberry: Highway 99 North to Highway 41 North continue on Highway 41 North to Herndon Avenue Exit, turn Right on Herndon Avenue to Highway 168, turn Left toward Prather/Auberry, and continue on Highway 168 to Prather, California, continue on Highway 168 to Auberry, California, approximately 32 miles from Fresno, California.


I.O.O.F./Odd Fellows Cemetery See Mountain View Cemetery information.

Kingsburg Cemetery 12782 E. Clarkson Avenue, Kingsburg, California 93631 Directions: Highway 99 South, approximately 18 miles, to Exit 201 toward Conejo Avenue, Kingsburg, California, turn a slight Right onto Sierra Street, turn Left on 6th Avenue Drive, turn Right on E. Clarkson Avenue to address above. The cemetery is on the corner of Clarkson Avenue and 10th Avenue. The cemetery was founded in 1884. Before that time burials were at Draper and 10th Avenue where the Roosevelt school now stands. When the present cemetery was started, all bodies were moved from the old location. Wooden markers were common and many of these had been destroyed, so many of the graves were unidentified when moved.

Kingston on the Kings River The last trace of this town that was once the first American Community on the valley floor section of Fresno County disappeared in 1937. Historians and a very few old timers are aware this place ever existed. Across the river from Laton was the site called Whitmore’s Ferry and Kingston. References have been made in early writings and on the Bozeman grave in Grangeville cemetery; the legend states the graves were moved from the Kingston Cemetery. Kings County has few records dating back that far. There must have been many graves in the Kingston Cemetery. L. A. Whitmore was likely the first burial in the site. The last trace of the Kingston Cemetery may have been destroyed in 1884 by recurring floods.


Laton (Oak Grove) Cemetery 19811 Cedar Street, Laton, California 93242 Directions: Highway 99 South to Highway 41 South, continue on Highway 41 South approximately 20 miles, turn Left onto E. Harlan Avenue, continue on E. Harlan Avenue to Cedar Street, turn Left to address above. The oldest marked grave is 1898. Many trees hade the area and it is well kept.

Liberty Cemetery Directions: See Mountain View Cemetery location. Liberty Cemetery is at this time Fresno’s only Military Cemetery. Not a large one, it contains a number of veteran’s graves, men who fought in the Civil War and in the Spanish American War, and also veterans from the later wars. A few are listed as “Indian Fighters”; one or two had a part in the Philippine Insurrection. Some of the men’s wives are buried here also, and in a few instances of the earliest burials, widows of Civil War veterans are interred here whose husbands are buried in other cemeteries. Liberty Cemetery is a park like place, with green well tended lawns and shade trees, rows and rows of small white military headstones and an occasional large monument. One granite marker reads: In Memory of John White Kentucky Volunteer 1793-1897 The actual grave of this pioneer, who lived to be 104 years old (War of 1812) , is the oldest one listed in the records of Liberty Cemetery.

Memorial Lawn Cemetery 1925 W. Belmont Avenue, Fresno, California 93728 Directions: See directions for Mountain View Cemetery for location.

Mendocino Cemetery (Parlier Cemetery) 7932 S. Mendocino Avenue Directions: Highway 99 South to Highway 41 South to Manning Avenue, Exit 121, take ramp toward Reedley College, turn slight Right on E. Manning Avenue, turn Left onto South Bethel, turn Right on E. South Avenue, turn Right on S. Mendocino Avenue to the address above. The oldest headstone is 1852.

Millerton-Fort Miller-Winchell Cove Cemeteries Directions: Highway 99 North to Highway 41 North to Highway 145; turn Right on Highway 145 and follow signs to Millerton Lake. These cemeteries are all located in the Millerton Lake area, some are now under water and the graves have been moved to other locations. Only the graves at Winchell Cove still remain.

Mountain View Cemetery 1411 W. Belmont Avenue, Fresno, California 93728 Directions: Highway 99 North take Belmont Avenue Exit, turn left on W. Belmont Avenue to address above. In 1885 Moses Church donated eighty acres to be known as the Mountain View Cemetery. In 1909 the Mountain View Association was formed. Many remains have been removed to Mountain View Cemetery from the out lying areas of the County. Today, Mountain View Cemetery is beautifully maintained and a walk through the peaceful grounds introduces one to the early pioneers of Fresno County. You will find listings for the following organizations and cemeteries in Mountain View Cemetery records: Seventh Day Adventist Church, St. James Church, Calvary Catholic Church, Fresno Lodge #247 F&AM, Nippon, Knights of Pythias, I.O.O.F., Potters Field, Liberty, A.O.U.W., Thor Danish Lodge, First Christian Church, Armenian Ararat.

Nippon or Japanese Cemetery This cemetery has been incorporated into the Mountain View Cemetery in Fresno California

North Selma Cemetery 2800 Thompson Avenue, Selma, California 93662 Directions: Highway 99 South approximately 12.8 miles to Floral Avenue Exit, turn Left on Floral Avenue to Thompson Avenue. Cemetery is located at Floral and Thompson Avenues.


Old Chinese Cemetery/Sam Yup Cemetery Directions: Highway 99 North take Belmont Avenue Exit, turn left on W. Belmont Avenue to Hughes Avenue. The cemetery is located south of Belmont Avenue and west of Hughes Avenue.

Old Hazelton Cemetery also known as the Hazelton Ranch Cemetery The Old Hazelton Cemetery is a small private burial ground on Trimmer Road. The first burials were made in 1866, and the small cemetery is fenced, isolated, and a very private place. Only this pioneer family is buried there.

Parlier Cemetery (Mendocino) 7932 S. Mendocino Avenue Directions: Highway 99 South to Highway 41 South to Manning Avenue, Exit 121, take ramp toward Reedley College, turn slight Right on E. Manning Avenue, turn Left onto South Bethel, turn Right on E. South Avenue, turn Right on S. Mendocino Avenue to the address above.

Pleasant Valley Cemetery Coalinga, California Directions: Highway 99 South to Highway 41 South, continue on Highway 41 South to Highway 198 West, continue on Highway 198 West to Calaveras Avenue, then to Phelps Avenue. The cemetery is located at Calaveras & Phelps Avenue in Coalinga, California.

Prather/Auberry Cemetery Also known as Grabner Cemetery Directions to Prather, California: Highway 99 North to Highway 41 North continue on Highway 41 North to Herndon Avenue Exit, turn Right on Herndon Avenue to Highway 168, turn Left toward Prather/Auberry, and continue on Highway 168 to Prather, California, approximately 32 miles from Fresno, California. The cemetery is located one mile East of Marshall Station on the North side of Auberry Road. The cemetery was established in the 1870’s.

Raisin City Cemetery Directions to Raisin City: Highway 99 South to Highway 41 South to E. American Avenue, turn Right on E. American Avenue turn Left on S. Cornelia Avenue, turn Right onto W. Manning Avenue, turn Left on S. Ormus Avenue, turn slight Left onto S. Henderson Road to the community of Raisin City.

Redbank Cemetery Directions: Highway 99 North to Highway 41 North to Shaw Avenue Exit, turn Right on Shaw Avenue and continue on Shaw Avenue between McCall Avenue and Academy Avenue. The cemetery is on the North side of Shaw Avenue, across from Wildwater Adventures. Redbank is located approximately 12 miles from downtown Fresno going East on Shaw Avenue and eight miles East of Clovis. There is a letter hanging in the Clovis Cemetery office dated May 12, 1883 which reads “We the undersigned agree to pay the amount set opposite our respective names for the purpose of buying, improving, and maintaining a public burying ground.

Redwood/Old Kings River Cemetery Directions: See directions to Sanger Cemetery. Redwood/Old Kings River Cemetery is the old section of Sanger Cemetery.

Reedley Cemetery 10481 S. Reed Avenue, Reedley, California 93654 Directions: Highway 99 South to Manning Exit, turn left on Manning Avenue to Reedley. Stay on Manning (It turns to “I” at the light, do NOT take Manning to the left). Take the first right, South on Reed Avenue. The cemetery is down about one mile on the Right.

Salem Cemetery Muscat Avenue, Sanger, California Directions: Highway 99 South to American Avenue Exit, turn Left on E. American Avenue, turn Left to stay on E. American Avenue, continue to McCall Avenue and turn left (North) on McCall Avenue, just past Central Avenue on the left is Muscat Avenue, turn Left on Muscat Avenue, go approximately ¼ mile, the cemetery is located on the on right side of Muscat Avenue.

Sanger Cemetery 568 S. Rainbow Avenue, Sanger, California 93657 Directions: Highway 99 North to Highway 41 North, take Highway 180 East (Ventura Avenue, Ventura Avenue becomes E. Kings Canyon Avenue), approximately 14 miles to Academy Avenue, turn right on Academy, go to California Avenue, turn Left on California Avenue to S. Rainbow Avenue, turn Left on S. Rainbow Avenue to above address. This is one of the most beautiful cemeteries in the county. The whole cemetery is planted with tree roses at each grave site and many large shade trees. Benches line the drive and are scattered through the cemetery. This cemetery is truly worth a visit. One of the oldest stones has a date in the early 1800’s.

Sectarian Russian Molakan Cemetery 1500 W. Barstow Avenue Directions: See Bethany Evangelical Lutheran Church Cemetery directions. The Russian Molakan Cemetery lies between the two Bethany cemeteries.

Sentinel Cemetery Also known as Morgan Canyon Cemetery Morgan Canyon Road (Highway 168) Directions: Highway 99 North to Highway 41 North to Highway 168 East, continue on Highway 168 East toward Prather California. The cemetery is located ½ to ¾ of a mile East of where Millerton Road connects to Morgan Canyon Road (Highway 168) on the North Side of the road. Sentinel Cemetery is more or less an old time family cemetery not near any community, just a plot of ground along Morgan Canyon Road. It is not safely accessible. Anyone wishing information on this cemetery should contact Anna M. Herrera with the Clovis Cemetery District. e-mail address cloviscemetery@attitude.com.

Squaw Valley Cemetery Directions: Highway 99 North to Highway 180 East toward Sequoia National Park, continue on Highway 180 East to community of Squaw Valley. The cemetery is located on Ruth Hill Road approximately 1.5 miles from the Squaw Valley Post Office. BillionGraves photos of headstones and transcriptions from this cemetery.

St. Peter’s Cemetery 264 N. Blythe Avenue, Fresno, California Directions: Highway 99 North to Highway 180 Exit 133 toward Mendota/Kings Canyon, take the 180 West ramp, continue on Highway 180 West to Hughes-West Diagonal, bear Right and head toward W. Whitesbridge Avenue, continue on W. Whitesbridge Avenue, continue on W. Whites Bridge Road to N. Blythe Avenue, turn Right to Fresno Catholic Cemeteries located on the right side of N. Blythe Avenue.

Tollhouse Cemetery Directions: Highway 99 North to Highway 41 North to Highway 180 East, continue on Highway 180 East toward Prather/Auberry to Old Tollhouse Road near the pioneer town of Tollhouse. The cemetery is located on the North side of the Old Tollhouse Road.

Van Horn Cemetery http://files.usgwarchives.net/ca/fresno/cemeteries/vanhorn.txt

Warthan Canyon Cemetery Coalinga, California Directions: Highway 99 South to Highway 41 South to Highway 198 West to Coalinga, California. Stay on Highway 198 West, it becomes Warthan Canyon Road, continue West to Priest Valley Road off Highway 198. The cemetery is located at Hot Springs and Priest Valley Road. This cemetery is very overrun with weeds and snakes. It contains some of the old pioneers of the canyon area and is on Private property.

Washington Colony Cemetery 7318 S. Elm Avenue, Fresno, California 93706 Directions: Highway 99 South to Highway 41 South, continue on Highway 41 South to E. Adams Avenue, turn Right on E. Adams Avenue to S. Elm Avenue, turn Left on S. Elm Avenue to address above.

Watts Valley Cemetery Directions: Highway 99 North to Highway 41 North to Highway 168 Exit East to Sample Road. Turn Right (east) (2) on Sample and continue approximately five miles to the intersection of Sample and Pittman Hill Roads. Turn right on Pittman Hill and continue approximately one and one-half miles to the intersection of Pittman Hill and Watts Valley Roads. Turn (east) on Watts Valley Road. Continue approximately seven and one-half miles. Take the next right turn (a couple hundred more feet) on a dirt road and continue for about one-half mile past two residences on the left and through a gate and over a cattle guard. At this point the cemetery will be visible on a hill on the left side of the road.

West Cemetery 1800 S. Thompson Avenue, Selma, California Directions: Highway 99 South to Second Street, turn Right on Second Street and continue to Nebraska Avenue, stay on Nebraska Avenue to Thompson Avenue, turn left (south) on Thompson Avenue, the cemetery is on the west side of Thompson Avenue at the address above.

Census

For tips on accessing Fresno County, California census records online, see: California Census.

Church History and Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Emigration and immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Heraldry

History

Local histories are available for Fresno County, California. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps

Cafresno.png

Migration

Military History and Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fresno County, California newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Fresno - Probate records.

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

The following public libraries in Fresno County have collections of particular interest to genealogists:

Fresno County Public Library
2420 Mariposa Street
Fresno, California 93721
Telephone: (559) 600-7323
The California History and Genealogy Room offers books, microfilms and other resources for local and state history as well as a variety of records helpful for identifying your ancestors and their lives–vital records, military, ethnic, census, Great Registers (voting records), prison records, and more.
Fresno City and County Historical Society Archives has Central Valley early farmers index, biographies, manuscripts, photos, oral histories, newspaper clippings, and school yearbooks.

County Courthouse

Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Divorce

Death

Voting Registers

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fresno County, California. Page 84 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 May 2014, at 05:22.
  • This page has been accessed 18,142 times.