Fressingfield, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Hoxne Hundred Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes

Guide to Fressingfield, Suffolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

FRESSINGFIELD (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union and hundred of Hoxne, E. division of Suffolk, 4½ miles (S.) from Harleston. There is a place of worship for Baptists.[1]

Suffuck Churches provides a photo of this church as well as additional information

Resources

If you live in Suffolk then you will have access to a variety of resources; however, for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.   Refer to Fressingfield and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration

Fressingfield is in Hoxne district. To search an index of Hoxne district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records

Fressingfield, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[7]
Fressingfield, Suffolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1554-1837

IGI 1554-1875


JOIN
1554-1837

NBI

1554-1900
TGEN
1554-1837

The Parish Registers begin in 1554.  They can be view at the Suffolk Record Office.  A copy of the registers from 1554 to 1900 can be purchased from the  Suffolk Record Office.  For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Hoxne Deanry, Archdeaconry of Suffolk. Parish Chest records are lacking for Fressingfield.   See Suffolk Church Record for further details.

Census records

There are census records available for Fressingfield from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Fressingfield, England, Census in the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details.

Probate records

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Fressingfield was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District.  Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

Maps and Gazetteers

  • Suffolk Gazetteers and Directories from 1839 to 1909 - Suffolk Gazetteers and directories provide a brief history and description of each parish and lists principal residents. They mention the farmers and tradesman in each parish and the nearest market towns among other things of interest.
  • National Gazetteers provide a brief description of each place
    • Vision of Britain
    • British History Online - FRESSINGFIELD (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union and hundred of Hoxne, E. division of Suffolk, 4½ miles (S.) from Harleston. There is a place of worship for Baptists. [8]

Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Fressingfield

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50972&strquery=#s9 A Topographical Dictionary of England] (1848), pp. 263-266. Date accessed: 25 September 2013.
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 4 December 2013.
  5. 'Suffolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 3 December 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.
  8. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 263-266. Date accessed: 25 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:45.
  • This page has been accessed 2,496 times.