Friarmere, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Friamere, Yorkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Friarmere

Guide to Friarmere, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Friarmere, Yorkshire
Friarmere St. Thomas (Heights Chapel).jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Rochdale PLU
Registration District Saddleworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1769
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashton Under Lyne
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Friarmere St Thomas is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1795 from  Rochdale St Chad, Lancashire Ancient Parish.It was in the Rochdale deanery of the Diocese of Manchester from 1847.

The church is also known as Heights Chapel. A simple mid 18th century church on a hillside overlooking Delph. The church was built beginning in 1765, probably using the labor of the parishioners, who dubbed it 'Heights Chapel'. It was intended as a chapel of ease for parishioners unable to travel to the parish church at  Saddleworth, Yorkshire.

St Thomas' is a very plain brick building, two storeys high, with a small stone bell-cote at the west end. It is very much in the style of a Georgian 'preaching church', with galleries on the west, north, and south, and a small east sanctuary lit by an Italianate window.

When a new church was built in Delph most of the interior furnishings were transferred there, leaving St Thomas' fairly bare. The modern Friarmere St Thomas parish is in the Saddleworth Team benefice, Oldham East Deanery , Rochdale Archdeaconry of the Diocese of Manchester

The church was deconsecrated and is now in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust who undertook building work during 2010

FRIERMERE, an ecclesiastical district, in the chapelry of Saddleworth, parish of Rochdale, Upper division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York, 1 mile (N.) from Delph. The church, dedicated to St. Thomas, is a plain edifice, consecrated in 1768. The dissenters have two places of worship. There are places of worship for Independents at Delph, Upper Mill, and Spring-head; and for Wesleyans at Delph, Upper Mill, and Bagulay.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Friarmere exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
FRIARMERE CHAPELRY (1770) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1769-1812 1769-1812 1769-1812 1769-1812 1769-1812 1769-1812
AC 1813-1914 1813-1914 1845-1930 1845-1930 1813-1985 1813-1985
FS 1770-1910

1845-1892

1784-1846

JOIN None

None

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Friarmere St Thomas Chapelry and comprising the whole ancient parish of Rochdale to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ROCHDALE PARISH page.


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1769 but when the church was closed and later deconsecrated it is necessary to examine the records of St Hilda's Delph for Marriages.

Friarmere- St Thomas
Banns-1868-1904- MFPR 2034
Banns-1904-1950- MFPR 2035
Baptisms-1769-1850- MFPR 187
Baptisms-1850-1916- MFPR 1361
Burials-1769-1909- MFPR 187
Burials-1909-1992- MFPR 2034
Marriages-1845-1892- MFPR 1361
Marriages-1892-1954- MFPR 2034
Marriages-1954-1990- Archives O14

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Parish registers for Friarmere, 1769-1992 Microfilm of original records in possession of the Manchester Public Libraries.
Microfilm purchased from the Rochdale Central Library, Rochdale, Lancashire. (original filming 197?)
Friarmere is a chapelry in the parish of Rochdale, Lancashire. It later became a parish. The church is also known as St. Thomas'. The original church was de-consecrated and the parish moved into what was known as St. Hilda's in Delph .
Delph is a village and a sub-district in Saddleworth-withQuick township, Rochdale parish.

Content
Film
Baptisms 1769-1850; burials 1769-1909.
FHL BRITISH Film
1484389
Baptisms, 1769-1850 (another filming). Burials, 1769-1909 (another filming).
VAULT BRITISH Film
2113082
Baptisms, 1850-1916. Marriages, 1845-1892.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113081
Marriages, 1892-1956 (includes St. Hilda's chapel, 1935-1954). Burials, 1909-1992. Banns, 1849-1904.
FHL BRITISH Film
2356153 Items 4 - 13
Banns, 1904-1956.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2356154 Items 1 - 2

Bishop's transcripts for Friarmere, 1784-1846 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Bishop's transcripts of the chapelry of Friarmere (St. Thomas) in the township of Saddleworth, Rochdale parish, Yorkshire. Rochdale parish is mainly in Lancashire.
Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/304a-304b

Content
Film
Baptisms and burials, 1784-1846.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545804 Items 2 - 3


Census records


Poor Law Unions

Rochdale Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 263-266. Date accessed: 19 March 2013

http://www.visitchurches.org.uk/findachurch/st-thomas-friarmere/?region=Manchester for Churches Conservation Trust Web site for details of the church.

Oldham east Deaconry website http://www.manchester.anglican.org/churches/rochdale-archdeaconry/oldham-east.asp?Page=2

http://www.saddleworth-historical-society.org.uk/overview/overview.htm Saddleworth Historical Society website

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 2,867 times.