Fridaythorpe, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.pngEast Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Fridaythorpe

Guide to Fridaythorpe, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Fridaythorpe, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Buckrose
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Pocklington PLU
Registration District Pocklington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1685
Bishop's Transcripts: 1626
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Buckrose
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1730 - Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Fridaythorpe; Post-1729 - Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Wetwang
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FRIDAYTHORPE, a parish, in the union of Pocklington, wapentake of Buckrose, E. riding of York, 9 miles (N. E. by N.) from Pocklington. Church of England records began in 1685. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

FRIDAYTHORPE, a parish in Pocklington district, E. R. Yorkshire; 2 miles-SSW of Fimber railway station, and 10 W by N of Great Driffield. There are a Wesleyan chapel and a Primitive Methodist chapel.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Fridaythorpe exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
FRIDAYTHORPE PARISH (1706) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1706-1849

1706-1866

None

JOIN None

1706-1837

None

AC None

None

None



For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Fridaythorpe to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the FRIDAYTHORPE PARISH page.


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464216.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 263-266. Date Accessed: 7 November 2013
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales(1870-72) Adapted 26 March 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,990 times.