Friern Barnet, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes

Guide to Friern Barnet, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Friern Barnet, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Finsbury Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Barnet PLU
Registration District Barnet
Records begin
Parish registers: 1673
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

"BARNET-FRYERN, [or Friern] a parish in Barnet [Registration] district, Middlesex; on the northern verge of the county, 1½ mile W by N of Southgate and Colney-Hatch r. station, and 3 miles SSE of Barnet. It contains the hamlet of Colney-Hatch, and part of the village of Whetstone; both of which have post offices under London N. Acres, 1,292. Real property, £6,552. Pop., 3,344. Houses, 241. The property is subdivided. The living is a rectory in the diocese of London. Value, £255. Patrons,-the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's. The church was restored in 1853. There are national schools, seven alms-houses, and some other charities. Walker, the author of "the Pronouncing Dictionary," was a native; and Judge Popham, a resident. See Colney-Hatch."[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Friern Barnet Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1674
1674
1674
Images
1674-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1813-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1927 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1813-1875 FamilySearch[6] 1675-1837 BritishOrigins[7] 1674-1812 BritishOrigins[8]
1834-1841 BritishOrigins[9] 1675-1837 findmypast[10]
Unknown findmypast[11] 1813-1875 FamilySearch[12]
1813-1837 BritishOrigins[13]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438776.

1666 Hearth Tax

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Manorial Records

Records survive for Whetstone Manor (1486-1874) in Friern Barnet Parish. The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Friern Barnet on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-2 Date accessed and adapted 22 October 2013.
  2. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St James the Great, Friern Barnet in Barnet Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Friern Barnet St James the Great in Barnet Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Friern Barnet St James the Great in Barnet Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Friern Barnet in Barnet Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. Batch C042091, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  7. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  8. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  9. 'About Middlesex Baptisms Index 1538-1751,' British Origins, accessed 16 March 2012.
  10. 'West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 8 March 2012.
  11. 'Middlesex baptism records coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 29 September 2012.
  12. Batch M042091, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  13. 'Surrey Marriage Index - Middlesex parishes in the index,' British Origins, accessed 17 September 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:54.
  • This page has been accessed 5,587 times.