Friezeland, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Friezland, Cheshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Friezeland

Guide to Friezeland, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Contents

For more information and records see Friezeland, Yorkshire.

Parish History

Friezeland, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg; Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Ashton under Lyne PLU
Registration District Ashton under Lyne; Saddleworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1848
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashton under Lyne
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Friezeland see Saddleworth; Saddleworth is a hamlet, a chapelry, a township, and a district, in Rochdale parish and W R. Yorkshire. Saddleworth-with-Quick; is divided into four meres or quarters, called Friar mere, Lord's mere, Quick mere, and Shaw mere; contains the villages of Upper Mill, Dobcross Delph, and Greenfield, a number of hamlets, and parts of the villages of Lees, Besides the chapelry of Saddleworth, it contains the chapelries of Dobcross, Lydgate, and Friar-Mere, and parts of the chapelries of Friezland and Hay.[1]

Friezeland Christ Church is an Ecclesiastical Parish partly in the county of Cheshire and mostly in Yorkshire, created in 1848 from Saddleworth Ecclesiastical Parish and Lydgate Ecclesiastical Parish (both in Yorkshire) and Stalybridge St Paul  Ecclesiastical Parish (in Cheshire). Historically a part of the West Riding of Yorkshire, Friezland lies between the village of Grasscroft and nearby town of Mossley.

Friezland was, in earlier times, a hamlet in Saddleworth, in the Metropolitan Borough of Oldham, Greater Manchester, England. It is situated four miles east of the town of Oldham. The chapelry of Friezland at one time was in the parish of Rochdale.

Historically part of the Diocese of Chester until the creation of the Diocese Of Manchester.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241239.

Church records

Friezeland, Cheshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)][2]
Friezeland, Cheshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1849-1915 1849-1915 1850-1889 1850-1889

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Church of England. Chapelry of Friezland (Lancashire), Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah : Salt Lake City, Utah, 1990 on 2 microfilm reels, microreproduction of original records housed at the Central Library, Oldham.

Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: L262/DRO 1-

Baptisms, 1849-1974. Burials, 1850-1934. Marriages, 1889-1908. FHL BRITISH Film 1656443 Items 1 - 4
Baptisms, 1849-1931 (another filming). Marriages, 1850-1889. Burials, 1850-1934. FHL BRITISH Film 1408572 Items 7 - 9

Non Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Ashton under Lyne

Poor Law Unions

  • Ashton under Lyne

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 1 March 2013
  2. 'Manchester, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1541-1812', Ancestry, accessed 25 August 2014.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 September 2014, at 19:26.
  • This page has been accessed 2,375 times.