Frindsbury, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Frindsbury, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Frindsbury, Kent
Frindsbury All Saints Kent.jpg
Frindsbury All Saints Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shamwell
County Kent
Poor Law Union North Aylesford PLU
Registration District North Aylesford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1669
Bishop's Transcripts: 1718
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FRINDSBURY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of North Aylesford, hundred of Shamwell, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 2 miles (N. by W.) from Rochester. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]


Frindsbury is part of the Medway Towns conurbation and has during its history been part of the City of Rochester Frindsbury Wikipedia Frindsbury Extra Wikipedia

Hoo Peninsula Wikipedia

Frindsbury All Saints is an Ancient parish and includes in the civil parish Frindsbury, Frindsbury Extra Wainscott and Upnor. The parish is in the Diocese of Rochester and a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you

The church dates from 1074 and was rebuilt in 1127 anwith subsequent 14th century addtions and was restored in 1884.

Frindbury is on the opposite bank of the River medway from Rochester and the ancient parish was that of the Bishop of Rochester with the purpose of earning income for the bishop.

See All Saints Frindsbury Wikipedia Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 3 (1797), pp. 525-546 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Frindsbury North West Kent Family History Society Frindsbury All Saints

Resources

Civil Registration

North Aylesford Registration District

Strood Registration District

Strood and Hoo Registration District

Chatham Registration District

and registrations from July 1837 to the present day are held at

Medway district
The Register Office
Northgate
Rochester
ME1 1LS
Telephone 01634 338902
Fax 01634 338913
register.office@medway.gov.uk

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Frindsbury, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[6]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[7]
Frindsbury, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1718-1832 (gaps)
1718-1832 (gaps)

FMP
1669-1837; 1758-1787 (Banns)

FREG 1669-1768
1669-1775
1669-1734, 1813-1922
FS BTs 1718-1832 1718-1832 1718-1832
MED 1669-1959 1669-1959 1669-1959

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

Frindsbury All Saints Baptisms marriages and Burials1669-1959 reference P 150

digital images may be searched online at Medway Archives City Ark project http://cityark.medway.gov.uk

Family History Library film numbers
Frindsbury
See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

Census records

Census returns for Frindsbury 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

North Aylesford Poor Law Union, Kent (renamed Strood)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Gillingham Family History Centre, Kent

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 263-266. Date accessed: 1 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish banns', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  5. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  7. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 20:36.
  • This page has been accessed 2,828 times.