Fritton, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes

Guide to Fritton, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Fritton, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Mutford and Lothingland
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Mutford and Lothingland PLU
Registration District Mutford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1706
Bishop's Transcripts: 1709
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lothingland
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FRITTON (St. Edmund), a parish, in the hundred of Mutford and Lothingland, E. division of Suffolk, 6 miles (S. W. by S.) from Yarmouth. [1]


Fritton St Edmund is an Ancient parish in the Lothingland deanery of the  Diocese of Norwich and the historical  county of Suffolk. Following 1974 local government boundary changes the parish became part of the county of Norfolk. 

It is not to be confused with Fritton St Catherine, Norfolk and the change of county can also confuse researchers.

A Norman round tower church with thatched roof and surviving wall painting (see web sites below)

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to Fritton and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Registration events post 1837 can be searched online at Free BMD. Refer to the Suffolk Civil Registration article for more details.

  • Mutford 1837-1935
  • Lothingland 1935-1974
  • Waveney St Margaret's House
    Gordon Road
    Lowestoft
    Suffolk
    NR32 1JQTelephone: 01502 405096
    Fax: 01502 508170
    Email: waveney.registrars@suffolk.gov.uk

Church Records

Fritton, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Fritton, Suffolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1708-1751

FREG
1838-1901
1813-1902
NBI

1706-1903

Registers for the parish are deposited at  Norfolk Record Office reference  PD 84.

The images for Fritton St Catherine, Norfolk which are displayed in historic records (formerly Record Search) include one marriage register for this parish 1838-1901 53 images 

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 47440.

Poor Law Unions

Mutford and Launditch http://www.institutions.org.uk/workhouses/england/suffolk/mutford_workhouse.htm

Probate records

Suffolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes F through G

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

Web Sites

http://www.achurchnearyou.com/fritton-st-edmund/ for information about the parish

http://www.paintedchurch.org/frited.htm  Church Painting

http://www.roundtowers.org.uk/toptwenty.html  Top Twenty Round Tower churches website

http://www.britishlistedbuildings.co.uk/en-227767-church-of-st-edmund-fritton-and-st-olave British listed building

http://www.norfolkchurches.co.uk/frittonedmund/frittonedmund.htm  Norfolk Churches website images of church and explanation of county boundary change

http://www.geograph.org.uk/photo/1918774 for images of the church

http://www.kent.ac.uk/library/specialcollections/mills/r.php/22719/show.html for 1911 image of the church

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 266-269. Date accessed: 25 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:45.
  • This page has been accessed 3,133 times.