Frodesley, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  ShropshireGotoarrow.png  Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Frodesley, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Frodesley, Shropshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Condover
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Atcham PLU
Registration District Atcham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1547
Bishop's Transcripts: 1632
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Condover
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FRODESLEY (St. Mark), a parish, in the union ofAtcham, hundred of Condover, S. division of Shropshire,8¾ miles (W. by N.) from Wenlock.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Frodesley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)
FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[2][3][4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
MLOC = Mel Lockie website - free
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
FRODESLEY PARISH (1547) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1547-1812

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1547-1862 1547-1640s (gaps)
JOIN
1547-1812

MLOC 1547-1812
1547-1812
1780-1812
PALL
1790-1812

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1632-1862 Marr 1632-1835 Bur 1632-1862

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474584.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 266-269. Date accessed: 11 June 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 24 April 2014.
  6. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 18:30.
  • This page has been accessed 826 times.