Frodsham, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Frodsham

Guide to Frodsham, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Laurence Frodsham exterior.jpg

Contents

Parish History

FRODSHAM, is a small town, a township, a lordship, a parish, and a sub-district in Runcorn district, Cheshire. The town stands, adjacent to the Chester and Warrington railway, it is 10 miles NE of Chester. The town has a post office under Preston Brook, and a railway station. The lord-ship of Frodsham adjoins the township on the NE; and consists of the hamlets of Bradley, Netherton, Overton, and Woodhouses. The parish contains also the townships of Helsby, Alvanley, Manley, Newton-by-Frodsham, Kingsley, and Norley. The chapelries of Alvanley, Kingsley, and Norley are separate benefices. There are seven dissenting chapels.[1]

Frodsham St Laurence is an Ancient parish in the market town of Frodsham Cheshire. It includes Alvanley, Frodsham, Frodsham Lordship, Helsby, Kingsley, Manley, Newton by Frodsham and Norley.

The Domesday Book records the presence of a church with a priest in this position. In 1093 the tithes were given by Hugh Lupus to the abbot of St Werburgh's Abbey, Chester. In the 1270s they passed to the monastery of Vale Royal when it was founded by Edward I. Following the dissolution of the monasteries the tithes and advowson passed to the dean and chapter of Christ Church, Oxford. Frodsham is one of the ancient parishes of Cheshire and included the villages of Kingsley, Norley, Manley, Alvanley and Helsby. In the 19th century some of these villages formed separate parishes, Norley in 1836, Kingsley in 1851, Alvanley in 1861 and Helsby in 1875.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241237.

Church Records

St Laurence Frodsham interior.jpg

Frodsham St Lawrence parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
Frodsham St Lawrence Parish (1557) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1863-1877


FS PR's 1557-1911
  NONE
1627-1934
  NONE
1558-1982
  NONE
FS BT'S 1639-1877   NONE
1660-1837
  NONE
1639-1877
  NONE
PALL
1790-1812

The following records are deposited at the Cheshire Record Office;

  • Parish registers for Frodsham, 1558-1963. CRO call numbers: P8/1, 2619/1/1-3, 2619/2/1-11, 2619/8/3/1-12, 2619/4/1, 2619/5/1-7.
  • Bishop's transcripts for Frodsham, 1603-1877.

The following records are on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City:

Parish registers content FHL Film #
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1558-1754. Marriages, 1792-1801. Burials, 1755-1812. Baptisms, 1755-1834. 2104547 Items 6 - 11
Baptisms, 1834-1963. Banns of marriages, 1754-1769. 2104548
Banns of marriages, 1768-1781. Marriages, 1781-1792, 1801-1910. 2104549
Marriages, 1910-1951. Banns of marriages, 1806-1855. Burials, 1813-1885. 2104550
Burials, 1885-1952. 2104551 Items 1 - 5


Bishop's transcripts content FHL Film #
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1603-1821. 1655670 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1822-1837; baptisms, 1838-1863; burials, 1850-1856. 1655671
Baptisms 1863-1877, burials, 1855-1877. 1655672 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

The following congregations have existed in Frodsham:

  • St. Luke (Roman Catholic), Ship Street. Founded 1949.
  • Trinity Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1823 in Chapel Lane, rebuilt in 1873 in Main Street.
  • Rock Methodist Chapel (Main Street). Built in 1837, closed in 1937. 
  • Bourne Methodist Chapel (Free), Main Street. Built in 1877.
  • Newton Hall Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Opened in 1951, closed in 1983.
  • United Reformed Church (formerly Independent/Congregational and Baptist), Bridge Lane. Built in 1886.

Non-Conformist Records:

The following records are known to exis and are deposited at the Cheshire Record Office:

  • Trinity Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Registers of marriages 1874–96, CRO call number: EMS 62/1.
  • Rock Methodist Chapel (Main Street). Registers 1894–1913, CRO call number EMS 63.
  • Records for the Frodsham United Methodist Free Circuit, 1894-1913 (Localities include Frodsham, Helsby, Newton, Little Sutton, Acton Bridge, Kingsley, Weston, Little Barrow, Kingswood, Dunham Hill, Barrow, Manley, Bolton, Runcorn, Hapsford, and New Brighton) are a the Cheshire Record Office call number: EMC 4/4653/6.
  • Bourne Methodist Chapel (Free). Various records 1874-1948, CRO call number EMS 266.
  • Newton Hall Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Registers 1951-1983, CRO call number EMS 311.  

The following records are on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City:

Church records for the Frodsham United Methodist Free Circuit FHL Film #
Baptisms, 1894-1913. 2299550 Item 1
Church records for the Trinity Wesleyan Methodist Chapel FHL Film #
Marriages, 1874-1896.  2299421 Item 21

Record Search, available at FamilySearch.org, includes Cheshire Non-Conformist records.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Runcorn (1837–1974)
  • Vale Royal (1974–98)
  • Cheshire Central (1998–2009)
  • Cheshire West (post 2009)

Poor Law Unions

Runcorn Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 1 March 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

Bibliography

Latham, Frank A. (ed.) (1987), Frodsham: The History of a Cheshire Town, Local Historians, pp. 65–67, ISBN 0901993069 
Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: B. T Batsford, pp. 157–160 
Frodsham Local History Group (1986), Short Guide to the Parish Church of S. Laurence Frodsham, Widnes: MailBook

Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, p. 37, ISBN 1871731232
Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 220–221, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 4,240 times.