Frome St John the Baptist, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Frome St John the Baptist, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Frome St John the Baptist, Somerset
St John the Baptist Church Frome Somerset.jpg
St John the Baptist Church Frome Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Frome
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Frome PLU
Registration District Frome
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frome
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Frome (St John the Baptist) is an Ancient parish and the first church on the site was founded in 685 AD by St Adhelm with subsequent medieval replacement subjected to restorations. FROME (Holy Trinity) was formed a chapelry by the year 1838. Christ Church, also erected as a chapelry was formed in the year 1818. St Mary's Chapel, Innox Hill, was built in 1863--all of which subdivided the ancient parish of St John the Baptist. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, and Presbyterians. The poor law union of Frome comprises 29 parishes or places.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Frome St John the Baptist, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[6]
FROME ST JOHN THE BAPTIST PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1558-1913
1558-1913
1558-1913
JOIN
1713-1837

MARR
1440-1754

NBI

1559-1968
SOPC 1838-1846

1838-1845

Frome Workhouse registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FROME WORKHOUSE Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1836-1912

1836-1866

Frome St Mary registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FROME ST MARY Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1873-1913
1873-1913

Frome Woodlands registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FROME WOODLANDS Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1841-1912
1874-1912
1841-1912

East Woodlands near Frome registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

EAST WOODLANDS NEAR FROME Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1813-1836

Census records

Poor Law Unions


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Frome/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  3. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  4. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  6. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 August 2014, at 15:41.
  • This page has been accessed 3,743 times.