Fulham St Augustine, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Fulham St Augustine, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

The Mission Chapel 'of St Augustine' was originally in the parish of St Andrew, Fulham. The parish ofSt Augustine, Lillie Road, Fulham was formed in 1901. St Augustine's Church was destroyed by bombing in October 1940. A temporarychurch was opened in 1941 over the parish hall. The marriage register was closed in October 1956 on the union of theparish with St Oswald, Anselm Road, Fulham to form the parish of St Oswald with St Augustine. St Oswald's became the parish church of the united parish whilst St Augustine's Church was used as a chapel of ease and was relicensed for marriages in October 1956. In 1973 St Oswalds was declared redundant and St Augustine's become the parish church. The name of the parish was changed to St Augustine, Lillie Road, Fulham. More recently the parish has joined with the parish of St Alban to become St Alban with St Augustine, Margravine Road, Fulham. The patronage is shared between the Bishop of London and the Corporation of London. [1]

St Augustine Lillie Road Fulham was a district church established by the year 1900 and lay within the boundaries of the civil parish of Fulham All Saints.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438805.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Fulham on GENUKI

References

  1. London Metropolitan Archives. Saint Augustine, Fulham: Lillie Road, Hammersmith and Fulham Saint Augustine, Fulham: Lillie Road, Hammersmith and Fulham. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 December 2014, at 15:59.
  • This page has been accessed 1,017 times.