Full Sutton, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Full Sutton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Full Sutton, Yorkshire Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Pocklington PLU|
|Parish registers: 1713|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1597|
|Rural Deanery||Harthill and Hull|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.
SUTTON, FULL, a parish, in the union of Pocklington, Wilton-Beacon division of the wapentake of Harthill, E. riding of York. Church of England records began in 1713. The Wesleyans have a place of worship.
FULL-SUTTON, a parish in Pocklington district, E. R. Yorkshire; 2½ miles E by S of Stamford-Bridge railway station, and 5½ NW of Pocklington. Post town, Stamford-Bridge, under York. There is a Wesleyan chapel. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Full Sutton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FMP= FindMyPast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|FULL SUTTON PARISH (1713) Online Records|
||1813-1829, 1832-1840|| |
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464219.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 274-280. Date Accessed: 7 November 2013.
- ↑ John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales] (1870-72) Adapted 26 March 2013.
- ↑ 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 13 October 2014.
- ↑ 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (East Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 17 October 2014.
- This page was last modified on 31 January 2015, at 18:32.
- This page has been accessed 1,078 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More