Funtington, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Funtington, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Funtington, Sussex
Funtington St Mary West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bosham
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Westbourne PLU
Registration District Westbourne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1590
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Boxgrove
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FUNTINGTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of West Bourne, hundred of Bosham, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 5 miles (W. N. W.) from Chichester; in the parish, is achapel erected and endowed in 1829.[1]


Funtington St Mary is an Ancient Parish which includes East and West Ashling.

history and images

The Parish church of St Mary has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

Funtington Wikipedia

Funtington Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Funtington, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
Funtington, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1705-1754

IGI 1564-1876 1565-1876
PRTS 1564-1706, 1717-1901
1565-1900
1560-1614, 1625-1706, 1720-1904

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Funtington

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474674.See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions

Westbourne Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 272-275. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,756 times.