Gabon GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Gabon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
The Gabonese'Republic', or Gabon is a country in west central Africa. It borders on Equatorial Guinea, Cameroon, Republic of the Congo and the Gulf of Guinea. Since its independence from France on August 17, 1960, the Republic has been ruled by only two autocratic Presidents; the incumbent El Hadj Omar Bongo Ondimba has been in power since 1967 and is currently (2007) Africa's longest-serving head of state. Gabon introduced a multiparty system and a new democratic constitution in the early 1990s that allowed for a more transparent electoral process and for reforms of governmental institutions. A small population, abundant natural resources, and foreign private investment have helped make Gabon one of the most prosperous countries in the region. Its coat of arms shows two jungle cats, representing the country's pride in its animals. Read More...
Getting started with Gabon research
(Add text and/or an image here)
(Your text or images here)
(Your text or images here.)
Did you know?
(Your text or images here, or use the table below.)
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
- This page was last modified on 11 November 2015, at 16:44.
- This page has been accessed 6,084 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News