Gaines County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Gaines County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Gaines County Courthouse
P. O. Box 847
101 South Main
Seminole, Texas 79360-4342
County Clerk has birth, death and court records
from 1903, marriage and probate records from
1848 and land records from 1843
County Clerk - Vicki Phillips
101 South Main, Room 107
Seminole, Texas 79360
Phone: (432) 758-4003
FAX: (432) 758-1442
Details: (Co Clk has b, m, d, bur, pro & ct rec from 1905 & land rec)
1876--Gaines County was created 21 August 1876 from Bexar Land District. County seat: Seminole 
Places / Localities
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Ashmore | Bessie | Caput | Denver City (mostly in Yoakum County) | Higginbotham | Loop | Seagraves | Seminole | Wasson | White City
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Loop Cemetery, Loop, Texas
- Seagraves Cemetery, Seagraves, Texas
- Gaines County Memorial Cemetery, Seminole, Texas
- Seminole Gaines County Cemetery (South), Seminole, Texas
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
- Ashmore Baptist Church - Loop
- Loop Baptist Church - Loop
- Loop Church of Christ - Loop
- Apostolic Assembly - Seagraves
- Church of Christ - Seagraves
- Church of the Nazarene - Seagraves
- First Assembly of God - Seagraves
- First Baptist Church - Seagraves
- First United Methodist Church - Seagraves
- Mt. Olive Baptist Church - Seagraves
- St. Paul's Catholic Church - Seagraves
- Sendero Pathway Assembly of God - Seagraves
- Temple Baptist Chruch - Seagraves
- Templo Bautista Getsemani - Segraves
- Agape Church - Seminole
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints - Seminole
- Family Harvest Church - Seminole
- Fifth Street Church of Christ - Seminole
- First Assembly of God - Seminole
- First Baptist Church of Seminole - Seminole
- First Methodist Church - Seminole
- First Presbyterian Church - Seminole
- First United Methodist Church - Seminole
- German Church of God - Seminole
- Gospel Mennonite Church - Seminole
- Sommerfeld Mennonite Church - Seminole
- South Seminole Baptist Church - Seminole
- St. James Catholic Church - Seminole
- West Side Church of Christ - Seminole
- Boyer Funeral Home - Seminole
- Connally Funeral Home - Seagraves
- Head Family Funeral Home - Seagraves
- Mark A. Jones Funeral Home - Seagraves
- Ratliff Funeral Home - Seminole
- Singleton Funeral Home - Seminole
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local histories are available for Gaines County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site.
- World War I Draft Registrations (A-L) - Gaines County, TXGenWeb site
- World War I Draft Registrations (M-Z) - Gaines County, TXGenWeb site
- World War II Enlistment Records - Gaines County, TXGenWeb site
- Korean War Dead - Gaines County, TXGenWeb site
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Gaines County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
These newspapers are not in Gaines County but contain news about its residents:
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas or How to order Texas Vital Records
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred, ordered electronically online or download an application for Texas Birth and Death Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Verification Application to mail.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- Gaines County Births 1905-1933 - Gaines County, TXGenWeb site
- Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index)- FamilySearch
- Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- Texas, Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 - FamilySearch
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 ~ FamilySearch record collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 ~ FamilySearch record collection
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
Online Death Indexes and Records
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Gaines County Deaths 1910-1974 - Gaines County, TXGenWeb site
Original Death Records on Microfilm
- Gaines County Divorces 1968-1978 - Gaines County, TXGenWeb site
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
|Centers provide: • Personal one-on-one assistance • Access to genealogical records through the Internet or microfilm loan program • Free how-to classes (varies by location). See Family History Centers for more information.|
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Gaines County, Texas. Page 664 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 19 January 2015, at 17:14.
- This page has been accessed 8,469 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More