Gainsborough All Saints, LincolnshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Gainsborough All Saints, Lincolnshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gainsborough All Saints, Lincolnshire
Gainsborough All Saints Lincolnshire.jpg
Gainsborough All Saints Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Corringham
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Gainsborough PLU
Registration District Gainsborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Corringham
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1834 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Stow; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GAINSBOROUGH (All Saints), a parish, markettown, and port, and the head of a union, in the wapentake of Corringham, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln. The church, which appears to have been originally founded and endowed by the Knights Templars, about 1209, was, with the exception of the tower, rebuilt in 1748. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, Unitarians, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Gainsborough All Saints Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Gainsborough All Saints

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438763.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Gainsborough Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Gainsborough/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 275-279. Date accessed: 19 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 September 2014, at 18:51.
  • This page has been accessed 1,391 times.