Gallatin County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Illinois Gotoarrow.png Gallatin County

Guide to Gallatin County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records

Coordinates: 37.76°0′N 88.23°0′W / 37.76°N 88.23°W / 37.76; -88.23

Gallatin County, Illinois
Map
Map of Illinois highlighting Gallatin County
Location in the state of Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: September 14, 1812
County Seat Shawneetown
Courthouse
Gallatin County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Gallatin County Courthouse
484 N. Lincoln Blvd.
Shawneetown, Illinois 62984
(618) 269-3025
 

Contents

County Organization

Gallatin County's civil records start the following years:

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1878 1813 1878 1820 1813 1814

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Gallatin County are kept, see the Gallatin County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

Albert Gallatin .jpg


Gallatin county was named for Albert Gallatin who was the Secretary of the Treasury of the United States, and Minister to France and England.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

  • 14 September 1812: Gallatin County was created from Randolph County. [1]

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

Records and Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

One of the best places to start Gallatin County cemetery searches are the books published by Glen Miner in the 1970s. They are available for free online at Cemeteries by Glen Miner.

The Illinois Cemeteries page provides general explanations of the following online Gallatin County resources:

Bibliography Online Gravestone Transcriptions Cemetery Gazetteers
FamilySearch Catalog Find A Grave | national search | county list ePodunk
WorldCat USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project
Illinois Cemeteries
  ILGenWeb  
Billion Graves

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190015,836
191014,628−7.6%
192012,856−12.1%
193010,091−21.5%
194011,41413.1%
19509,818−14.0%
19607,638−22.2%
19707,418−2.9%
19807,5902.3%
19906,909−9.0%
20006,445−6.7%
20105,589−13.3%
IL Counties 1900-1990
For tips on accessing census records online, see Illinois Census.

1830

  • Census, 1830, Gallatin County, Illinois. n.p.: n.p., 1900. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

1840 Pensioners

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Gallatin County on page 187.]

Church Records

A chapter on early Gallatin County, Illinois church history appears in an 1887 local history, available for free online, beginning on page 126.

Baptist

Catholic

FamilySearch has made parish records from four Belleville Diocese Catholic churches in Gallatin County available online. The records include first communions, confirmations, marriages, and deaths:

For information about St. Patrick's, see:

  • Dedication Souvenir, St. Patrick's Church, Gallatin County, Illinois. Doherty, Ill.: The Church, 1929. WorldCat (Other Libraries)

Methodist

  • First Methodist Episcopal Church (Shawneetown, Ill.). Church Records, 1867-1938. Copy: FHL Film 978272 Items 1-2. Contains list of pastors; alphabetical lists of members; probationers; marriages, 1868-1933 -- baptisms, 1867-1938 -- burials, 1915-1933 -- historical record; classes.

Presbyterian


Court Records

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using court records.

The following records may be accessed through the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Gallatin County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy

History

  • History of Gallatin, Saline, Hamilton, Franklin, and Williamson Counties, Illinois: From the Earliest Time to the Present, Together with Sundry and Interesting Biographical Sketches, Notes, Reminiscences, Etc., Etc. Chicago: Goodspeed, 1887. Digital versions at Ancestry ($); Internet Archive. FHL Film 873820 Item 1

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Land Records for more information about using land records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online sources, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Gallatin County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

Copies of Original Records

Online Resources

Maps

Ilgallatin.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Gallatin County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Gallatin County.

- 1st Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company B.
- 1st Regiment, Illinois Light Artillery, Battery K.
- 6th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Companies F and L.
- 7th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company G.
- 14th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company E.
- 18th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- 29th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies C, D, and G.
- 56th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies D and F.
- 118th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I.
- 120th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies D and H.
- 131st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, D, E, and F.

Naturalization

The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Gallatin County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

  • 1839-1906Naturalization Papers IRAD (SIU)
  • 1859-1888 Naturalization Record, Final IRAD (SIU)
  • 1859-1893 Naturalization Declarations of Intent IRAD (SIU)
  • 1859-1893 Naturalization records: intentions, vol. A, 1859-1893; final papers, Vol. A; soldiers and minors, vol B, 1881-1953; papers, box 112, 1802-1906 FHL film 977824
  • 1881-1886 Naturalization Record of Soldiers IRAD (SIU)

Newspapers and Obituaries

Probate Records

Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk (618) 439-2011. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Gallatin County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

Abstracts

Copies of Original Records

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Gallatin County are kept, see the Gallatin County Courthouse page.

Family History Center

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Southern Illinois University houses the records for Gallatin County.

Public Libraries

Social Groups Online

Societies

Genealogical Society of Southern Illinois has a page with details about its' activities.

Taxation

Vital Records

See Gotoarrow.png Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.


Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Gallatin County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Gallatin County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

Births

Marriages

Online Resources

Abstracts

Copies of Original Records

Deaths

Online Resources

Copies of Original Records

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.; Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002 WorldCat 50140092, FHL Book 973 D27e 2002

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:37.
  • This page has been accessed 21,821 times.