Gallia County, OhioEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Gallia County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Gallia County, Ohio | |
| Map | |
| |
![]() Location of Ohio in the U.S. | |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Gallia County Courthouse 18 Locust St. Gallipolis, Ohio 45631 Gallia County Website |
|---|---|
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| *For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent Counties: Formed from Washington County 25 March 1803.[1]
- County Seat: Gallipolis
- Neighboring Counties: Gallia County, Ohio residents may also have records in [2]Vinton (north) · Cabell County, West Virginia (south) · Lawrence (southwest) · Meigs (northeast) · Jackson (west) · Mason County, West Virginia (east)
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Gallia County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Business Records and Commerce
Cemeteries
- Gallia County Cemeteries, 163 cemeteries listed.
- Gallia County Cemetery Records.
- Cemeteries of Gallia County.
- The Tombstone Transcription Project.
- Gallia County Cemeteries.
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.
Census
- United States Census 1850.
- United States Census Mortality Schedules, 1850 (FamilySearch Historical Records).
- United States Census Slave Schedule, 1850 (FamilySearch Historical Records).
- United States Census 1860.
- United States Census 1870.
- United States Census 1880.
- United States Census 1900.
- United States Census 1910.
- United States Census 1920.
- United States Census 1930.
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.
Finding Church Records at Other Repositories
Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Gallia County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Court Records
- Many Court records for Gallia County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.
Directories
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Local Histories
- Index to Hardesty's History of Gallia County. Printed in 1882. It contains a condensed history of the county, biographical sketches, general statistics and miscellaneous matters.
- History of Gallia County Containg A condensed History of the County; Biographical Sketches; General Statistics; Miscellaneous Matters, &c.
- Gallia County Ohio History Sources.
- First Settlers of Huntington Township.
- Gallia County Ohio Memory Digital Collection.
- Biographical Index.
- Gallia County, Ohio Pioneer Families.
- Many History records for Gallia County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- Land Records Bureau of Land Management Database.
- Land Patent Search.
- Many Land records for Gallia County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.
Maps
- Gallia County Google Satellite Map.
- Gallia County and its Neighbors Maps.
- 1887 Gallia County map from Military History of Ohio, Illustrated.
- U. S. Geological Survey - National Mapping Information Geographic Names
- Many Map records for Gallia County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.
Military
- General
- Civil War
Civil War service men from Knox County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Knox County.
- -Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System.
- -Gallia History Web, during the Civil War.
Many Military Civil War 1861-1865 records for Gallia County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.
- World War II
- -Gallia County, Ohio World War II Casualties Army and Air Force.
- -United States, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1942.
Many Military records for Gallia County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.
Naturalization and Citizenship
- Many Naturalization and Citizenship records for Gallia County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.
Newspapers
Gallia County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.
For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.
- Gallia County Newspaper Obituaries.
- Gallia County Newspaper Obituaries for Civil War Veterans.
- Gallipolis Daily Tribune.
- Gallia County, Ohio Genealogy and History News Articles.
Probate
Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Gallia County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Gallia County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:
- Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (1981). [3] FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).
- Many Probate records for Gallia County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Gallia County Courthouse
18 Locust Street
Gallipolis, OH 45631-1251
Phone: 740.446.4374
Probate Judge has birth, marriage, death and probate records;
County Health Department has burial records; Clerk Court has
divorce and court records from 1850; County Recorder has
land records[1]
Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Schools
Taxation
- Ohio Tax Records 1816-1838.
- Delinquent Tax List for 1860. Transcribed by Henry Evans
- Many Probate records for Gallia County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog
Finding Tax Records at Other Repositories
Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Gallia County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Vital Records
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Gallia County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.
Original marriage records are held at the office of the Gallia County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Gallia County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.
Birth
- Birth Records of Gallia County 1894-1903. These records are transcribed from Volume 3. The birth records are housed in Gallia County Probate Court in Gallipolis, Ohio.
Marriage
Death
- Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953 Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased.
- Deaths 1887-1888, Gallipolis, Part 1.
- Deaths 1887-1888, Gallipolis, Part 2.
- Deaths 1887-1888, Cheshire Township.
- Deaths 1887-1888, Huntington Township.
- Gallia County Death Register 1888
- Gallia County, Ohio Death Records.
- Many Vital records for Gallia County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Gallia County, Ohio Chamber of Commerce.
- Post Offices of Gallia County.
- Gallia County Funeral Homes.
- Gallia County, Ohio Genealogy and History.
- Genealogical & Historical Information for Gallia County, Ohio.
- Linkpendium Gallia County Genealogy and Family History.
Places
Populated Places
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Gallia County, Ohio" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gallia_County,_Ohio (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
Gallia County Reference Books and Lookup Volunteers.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 17 May 2013, at 01:36.
- This page has been accessed 3,982 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


