Gamston, NottinghamshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Gamston, Nottinghamshire ancestry and family history: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|[[File::Gamston(near Retford) St Peter Nottinghamshire.jpg|200px]]|
:Gamston(near Retford) St Peter Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Basford; East Retford PLU|
|Registration District||East Retford|
|Parish registers: 1544|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1626|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
GAMSTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of East Retford, South-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 3½ miles (S.) from East Retford. There is a place of worship for Baptists.
Gamston St Peter is an Ancient parish; the church was restored in 1855 by Sir George Gilbert Scott.
Southwell and Nottingham Church history project areresearching this church and history Gamston St Peter
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Gamston, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Gamston, Nottinghamshire Parish Online Records|
Gamston (Retford) St Peter
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1602-1931Marriages 1545-1878 Burials 1544-1901 Bishop's Transcripts 1601-1843
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Do not confuse with West Bridgford, Nottinghamshire Gamston St Luke
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Gamston
Gamston, St. Peter's. A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions dated from 1801, both inside and outside the church, giving surname, given name, date of death, age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 59, pages 22-25, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.
1821 Census -Gamston. Census of Gamston taken on 28 May 1821, showing given name, and surname head of household, and number of males, and females in each household, including ages. This was done for taking ac account of the population of Great Britian. Taken from Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 20,745/1-2, transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 95, page 34-35, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 21 January 2015, at 22:18.
- This page has been accessed 1,854 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More