Garrett County, Maryland GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Garrett County, Maryland ancestry, family history, and genealogy, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Garrett County, Maryland|
Location in the state of Maryland
Location of Maryland in the U.S.
|Founded||November 4, 11872|
|Address|| Garrett County Courthouse|
203 South Fourth Street, Room 207
Oakland, Maryland, 21550
Garrett County Website
Garrett County Maryland Courthouse
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, land
and court records from 1872, military records from 1942,
and naturalization records 1908-1929; Register of wills
has probate records. 
Garrett County Maryland History
- Named for John Work Garrett (1820-1884), president of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad.
- Last county created in the state, 4 November 1872, from west part of Allegany County.
For animated maps illustrating Maryland county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Maryland County Boundary Maps" (1637-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in Maryland counties see: Maryland Counties with Burned Courthouses
Garrett County Maryland Places/Localities
West Virginia counties:
Garrett County Maryland Genealogy Resources
- FamilyHart's Garrett County, Maryland This site contains many cemetery and obituary records for Garrett County.
Federal Census reports available 1880-1930. For tips on accessing Garrett County, Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.
Maryland State Archives' Guide to Maryland Religious Institutions identifies all churches known to have existed in Garrett County, Maryland. It covers all denominations and includes record descriptions.
- Come join our Garrett County, Maryland Genealogy Group at Facebook
Through a Joint eGovernment Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the complete series of Garrett County Deed Books (1872-present) have been uploaded to their website: MDLandRec.Net: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)
Other Garrett County land resources include:
- FamilyHart's Garrett County, Maryland This site contains many land records online for Garrett County.
- FamilyHart's Garrett County, Maryland This site has several online local histories and biographies for Garrett County.
- FamilyHart's Garrett County, Maryland This site contains many online maps of Garrett County.
- FamilyHart's Garrett County, Maryland This site contains many marriage records online for Garrett County.
War of 1812
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Maryland, Garrett County, p. 149. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
- Garrett County newspapers are identified in "Guide to Maryland Newspapers," available online, courtesy: Special Collections, Maryland State Archives.
- FamilyHart's Garrett County, Maryland This site contains many online obituaries for Garrett County.
- Russell, Donna Valley. Allegany and Garrett Counties, Maryland, Genealogical Research Guide. New Market, Md.: Catoctin Press, 1996.
- Maryland Death Certificate Index 1898-1944, available online, courtesy: Vital Records Indexing Project, Maryland State Archives.
Garrett County Maryland Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Garrett County Maryland Genealogy Websites
- FamilyHart's Garrett County, Maryland This site contains online map, cemetery, marriage, military, land, historical, and biographical records for Garrett County, Maryland.
- Garrett County, MD History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- "Garrett Co.," in Genealogical Sources in Periodicals at The Maryland State Archives.
- The Garrett County MDGenWeb Project, a member of The MDGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Garrett County.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Garrett County. (Backup site)
- FamilySearch.org FamilySearch Catalog for Garrett County
- FamilyHart Online Database This online database contains over 843,000 linked family names. It grows by 1,500 names per week, and is updated online quarterly. There are many many Garrett County family in this database.
Garrett County Maryland Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Harford, Maryland page 317, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
|This Maryland-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it.
While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List.
- This page was last modified on 5 February 2015, at 20:51.
- This page has been accessed 15,450 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More