Garstang St Thomas, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Garstang St Thomas, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

See a List of Chapels and Chapelries in the Parish of Garstang

Contents

Parish History

Garstang St Thomas was created a chapel of ease in 1327.

Other places in the parish include: Bilsborough, Billisborrow, Cabus, Catteral, Catterall, Claughton, Cleveley, Forton, Holleth, Kirkland, Nateby, Nether Wyresdale, Winmarleigh, Barnacre with Bonds, Barnacre with Ronds, and Bilsborrow.

The church of St Thomas in located in the village of Garstang.

The Chapel of Ease of St Thomas was originally built in 1327 on a site to the rear of the High Sreet and was taken down and rebuilt in 1770. Once called by All Saints, it became St Thomas' Church in 1848. St Thomas' graveyard was first used in 1849.[1]

See also Garstang St Helen.
St Thomas' Church, Garstang.jpeg

Garstang, market town,parish, andtownship (ry. sta. Garstang and Catterall), N. Lancashire, on river Wyre, 10½ miles S. of Lancaster -- par., 29,422 ac. and 4439 foreshore.


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Garstang St Thomas chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Garstang St Helen to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


GARSTANG ST THOMAS Chapelry (1786) Indexes 
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1881-1896 None
LOPC 1824-1900 1881-1900  1849-1900
AC None None None
GARSTANG ST HELEN PARISH (1563) Indexes (ancient parish containing GARSTANG ST THOMAS Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials 
FS 1567-1889 1567-1900 None
LOPC 1689-1862 1689-1900 1689-1842 
AC 1567-1734 1567-1734 1567-1734


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Garstang St Thomas and comprising the whole ancient parish of Garstang St Helen to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the GARSTANG ST HELEN PARISH page.



Parish registers for St. Helen's Church, Garstang Microfilm of original records at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Lancashire Record Office no. : PR 2398-2425; 2432; 2963/1-2; 3239/1,3,5

Baptisms and burials 1567-1780 Marriages 1567-1754 FHL BRITISH Film 1278942 Items 14-24
Baptisms and burials 1780-1862 Marriages 1754-1856 Register of affidavits of burials in Woollen 1678-1691 Banns 1780-1872 Register of memo of baptisms and 1819-1825 burials 1835-1852 Draft burials and baptisms 1768-1783 FHL BRITISH Film 1278886
Marriages 1856-1900 Banns 1873-1900 Register of confirmations 1838-1900 FHL BRITISH Film 1278890 Items 1-4

Bishop's transcripts for St. Helen's Church, Garstang Microfilm of originals at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Some parts are illegible due to torn pages, dark spots, faded ink.
DRB 2/76-88

Parish registers of St Thomas Garstang Microfilm of original records at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Contains baptisms and marriages 1881-1900; burials 1840-1900; copy of baptism registers 1824-1858; Statistics and communicants 1847-1851; memorandum book (baptisms) 1858-1881.
Lancashire Record Office no. : PR 3240/1/1, 3, 6, 14-15

Parish registers FHL BRITISH Film 1470930 Items 20-24

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306886.

Genealogy

Gardner, Joan M.  A Misleading Marraige Affadavit: The Gardners at Calughton. History and family tree of John Gardner and Helen (Ellin) Bland dating from 1781-1854, other surnames Green, Jempson, Ducket, Brotherton, Eccles, and Clayton, to be found in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Society Magazine, vol. 10, no.1. pages 12-14, FHL Ref. 942.72 B2r


Poor Law Unions

Garstang Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites 

British History online

References

  1. John Bartholomew, 1887 Gazetteer of the British Isles.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 1,364 times.