Gasconade County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Gasconade County

Guide to Gasconade County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Gasconade County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 25, 1820
County Seat Hermann
Courthouse
Address Gasconade County Courthouse
119 E 1st St #2; PO Box 295
Hermann, MO 65041
Phone: 573.486.5427
Gasconade County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth records 1867-1897 and death records 1883-1901;
Recorder of Deeds has land records; Probate Judge has probate
records[1]

History

Parent County

1820--Gasconade County was created 25 November 1820 from Franklin County. County seat: Hermann [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Neighboring Counties

Crawford County • Phelps County • Maries County • Moniteau County • Miller County • Montgomery County • Warren County • Franklin County

Franklin CountyWashington CountyGasconade CountyCrawford CountyPhelps CountyPulaski CountyCamden CountyMiller CountyLaclede CountyMaries CountyOsage CountyCole CountyMoniteau CountyCallaway CountyBoone CountyAudrain CountyWarren CountySt. Charles CountyLincoln CountyMontgomery CountyMOGasconade.JPG


Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities


          To see a list of places in Gasconade County, click on [Show], in the bar above.

Osage County Historical Society has information on historic places from Gasconade, Maries & Osage Counties including sources and links to historic maps. Also see: Ramsay Place Names File (State Historical Society of Missouri).

Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

There are 95 recorded cemeteries in the county.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Gasconade County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

Maps

Mogasconade.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 31st Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 9th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 34th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 34th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 34th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 34th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 34th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 34th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 34th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 34th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 34th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 34th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 34th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company L
- 34th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company M
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company E

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Gasconade County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1869-1886 - Gasconade County Birth Index 1869-1886. Batch C515114 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1875 - Gasconade County Birth Index 1875. Batch C515111 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1886-1894 - Gasconade County Birth Index 1886-1894. Batch C515117 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
  • 1822-1881 - Gasconade County Marriage Books A thru D Index 1822-1881. Batch M515112 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1881-1885 - Gasconade County Marriage Book 1 Index 1881-1885. Batch M515113 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths
  • Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
  • 1869-1894 - Gasconade County Death Index 1869-1894. Batch B515118 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1886-1890 - Gasconade County Death Index 1886-1890. Batch B515116 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1886-1896 - Gasconade County Death Index 1886-1896. Batch B515115 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Historical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Gasconade County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Gasconade County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Gasconade County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Gasconade County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Gasconade County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Gasconade County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Gasconade County, Missouri. Page 400 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 3.6 3.7 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 July 2014, at 15:39.
  • This page has been accessed 10,274 times.