Gasthorpe, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Gasthorpe, Norfolk
Ruins of St Nicholas Gasthorpe.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Guiltcross
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Guiltcross PLU
Registration District Guiltcross
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Riddlesworth
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rockland
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GASTHORPE (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union and hundred of Guilt-Cross, W. division of Norfolk, 4½ miles (S.) from East Harling. Gasthorpe St Nicholas is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich. [1]
The  church fell into disrepair in the 1780's and the registers of Riddlesworth record that from 1783 Riddlesworth the larger neighbouring parish contin the records of Gasthorpe's inhabitants.

The Ruins of St Nicholas are still visible today.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Guiltcross 1837- 1902
  • Thetford 1902-1935
  • with Riddlesworth 1935-1938
  • Wayland 1939-1974

Church records

Gasthorpe, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
Gasthorpe, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1729-1742


Refer to combined register of Riddlesworth and Gasthorpe Riddlesworth, Norfolk from 1783

Norfolk Record office reference PD 528/ 1-4

Images of these registers are available in historic record collections on FamilySearch (formerly Record Search)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438861.


Poor Law Unions

Guiltcross Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 279-282. Date accessed: 18 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 279-282. Date accessed: 18 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 03:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,873 times.