Gauteng, South AfricaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
South Africa Gauteng
Guide to Gauteng, South Africa ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Gauteng means 'Place of Gold' in the Sotho languages. It is the smallest province in South Africa, but also the richest and most crowded. More Gauteng history can be found online at the South Africa History Online website.
Wikipedia article for the Gauteng Jurisdiction.
Inforamaion about some of the major cities within the Gauteng Province can be found at http://www.southafrica.com/gauteng/
List of cities and towns in Gauteng
Maps and gazetteers
A comprehensive set of maps of the Gauteng Province can be found at this link.
Find A Grave records for Gauteng, South Africa
2011 South Africa Census. This population census is a total count of the country's population, where demographic, social and economic information is gathered about the people who live in the country. Statistics specific to Gauteng can be found in this report.
Dutch Reformed Church (NGK)
Dutch Reformed Church (NHK)
Reformed Church (GK)
See here for a description of what death notices are and where they are located.
- This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 23:25.
- This page has been accessed 1,603 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More