Gawsworth, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Gawsworth, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gawsworth, Cheshire
Gawsworth Church.jpg
Gawsworth Church
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Macclesfield PLU
Registration District Macclesfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1586
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GAWSWORTH, is a village, a parish, and a sub-district, in Macclesfield district, Cheshire. The village stands near the Grand Trunk canal and the North Staffordshire railway, it is 3½ miles SW by S of Macclesfield. The post town is, Macclesfield. The sub-district contains also five townships of Prestbury parish, and one of Astbury.[1]

Gawsworth St James is an Ancient parish There is a record of a chapel on the site in the 13th century but the present building dates from the 15th century.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241238.

Church Records

Gawsworth St James registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP =  FindMyPast - (£)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[7]
Gawsworth St James Parish (1557) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1586-1868
1586-1836

BOYD
1557-1812

FS PR's 1557-1885
  NONE
1557-1934
  NONE
1557-1982
  NONE
FS BT'S 1586-1868   NONE
1586-1836
  NONE
1586-1868
  NONE
FMP



1557-1997 1557-1997
JOIN
1557-1812

NBI

1557-1997
PALL
1790-1812

TGEN
1557-1812

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Gawsworth, St. James (C of E), is the ancient parish church for the township of Gawsworth. The following records are deposited at the Cheshire Record Office.

  • Registers of Baptisms 1557–1885, Marriages 1557–1987 and Burials 1557–1993. CRO call numbers: P193/4467/1-8, 13, P193/5583
  • Bishop's transcripts for Gawsworth, 1586-1868. CRO call number: EDB 92.

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at theFamily History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish register content FHL Film #
Baptisms, 1813-1885. Marriages, 1668-1837. Burials, 1667-1673. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1557-1667, 1673-1812. 1999985
Marriages, 1837-1958; Burials, 1813-1860 2000007 Items 1 - 3
Burials, 1860-1993. 2147232 Item 4
Bishop's transcripts content FHL Film #
Marriages, 1586-1791, 1813-1836. Baptisms, burials, 1586-1839, 1841-1842, 1867-1868. Baptisms, 1851. 1655672 Item 2
Non-Conformist Churches

Gawsworth, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), The Warren. Built in 1892. The following records are deposited at the Cheshire Record Office;

CRO call number EMS 369.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Macclesfield (1837–1998)
  • Cheshire East (1998+)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Gawsworth on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 1 March 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.

Bibliography

Clifton-Taylor, Alec (1974), English Parish Churches as Work of Art, London: Batsford, p. 240, ISBN 0 7134 2776 0
Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 222–223, ISBN 0 300 09588 0 
Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 160–164 
Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, p. 38, ISBN 1871731232 
Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead: Countyvise, p. 133, ISBN 0 907768 18 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:38.
  • This page has been accessed 4,029 times.