Gayton, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Gayton, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. {{Infobox England Jurisdictions

Gayton, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Freebridge-Lynn
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Freebridge Lynn PLU
Registration District Freebridge Lynn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1702
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lynn
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GAYTON (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union and hundred of Freebridge-Lynn, W. division of Norfolk, 7 miles (E.) from Lynn. [1]


Gayton St Nicholas is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Freebridge Lynn 1837-1938
  • King's Lynn 1939-1974

Church records

Gayton, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[8]
Gayton, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1702-1837

FREG 1600-1812
1600-1812
1600-1812
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
JOIN
1702-1837

PALL
1790-1837

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 117/ 1-9, 25-26

This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content
Film
Baptisms and burials 1600-1611, 1623-1636, 1668-1812 Marriages 1600-1611, 1625-1636, 1668-1812
FHL BRITISH Film
1526742 Item 14

Freebridge Lynn Union Workhouse registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Freebridge Lynn Union Workhouse Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1813-1880


TIN 1837-1880


Non-Conformist churches

Non-Church of England denominations identified in Gayton include: Primitive Methodist, Wesleyan Methodist, and Wesleyan Methodist Reform.

Gayton Methodist chapel was founded in 1812.

Norfolk Record Office reference SO 197/8/1-29, 900X6  Norfolk Non Conformist Chapel survey

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438857.

Poor Law Unions

Freebridge Lynn      http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?FreebridgeLynn/FreebridgeLynn.shtml

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 283-287 Date accessed: 18 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:47.
  • This page has been accessed 992 times.