Gedling, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NottinghamshireGotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

= Parish Histor

Gedling, Nottinghamshire
Gedling All Hallows Nottinghamshire.jpg
Gedling All Hallows Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thurgarton
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Basford PLU
Registration District Basford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Manor of St John of Jerusalem or Shelford St Johns
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


GEDLING (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Basford, S. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton and of the county of Nottingham, 3½ miles (N. E. by E.) from Nottingham; containing, with the hamlet of Carlton and township of Stoke Bardolph. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

Gedling All Hallows is an Ancient Parish in the north east of the City of Nottingham. The Ancient parish included Stoke Bardolph and Carlton. A history of the Church is available church history

The church dates in part from the 11th century and has been designated as a grade I listed building by English Heritage British listed building

The Ecclesiastical parish of Carlton St Paul was formed from this parish in 1885 The church of St Paul has been designated a grade II listed building by English Heritage British listed building

The timber church and parish of Carlton St Michael and All Angels was also formed from part of the ancient parish and of Carlton St Paul Foxhll Road and consecrated in 1907.  A Timber church building was sold to the Rev J. F. Perry of Carlton by the parish of South Beddington, Surrey just before 1906 and served as a church until circa 1930.

With the growth of Carlton Gedling became subsumed into Carlton as a district.

Gedling Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Church records

Gedling, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
GEDLING PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

Gedling All Hallows

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives  Baptisms 1558-1939 Marriages 1558-1948 Burials 1559-1901 Bishop’s Transcripts 1601-1860
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Netherfield St George Baptisms 1885-1944 Marriages 1886-1953

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Gedling

Gedling. A transcription of memorial inscriptions, dating from 1729, giving surname, given names, date of death, and age.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol. 21, pages 3-16, FHL ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 August 2014, at 15:09.
  • This page has been accessed 1,373 times.