General Lying in Hospital, LambethEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png General Lying in Hospital, Lambeth

Guide to General Lying in Hospital, Lambeth, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

This chapel was built as part of the General Lying-in-Hospital, York Road, Lambeth and was one of four such lying-in hospitals established in Greater London in the mid-18th century. This hospital was principally intended for the "wives of poor industrious Tradesmen or distressed House-keepers" and the wives of soldiers and sailors. It was used extensively for birthing children. The General Lying In Hospital was opened in 1767 as the New Westminster Lying In Hospital in Westminster, Bridge Road, Lambeth. It admitted single and married women. In 1818 it changed its name to the General Lying In Hospital and moved to York Road in 1828. The hospital closed in 1971.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438805.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Wikipedia "General Lying in Hospital Lambeth or Westminster Lying In Hospital. :http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/General_Lying-In_Hospital

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:26.
  • This page has been accessed 2,050 times.