Geneva County, AlabamaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Alabama  Gotoarrow.png  Geneva County

Guide to Geneva County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Alabama
Online Records


Geneva County, Alabama
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 26, 1868
County Seat Geneva
Courthouse
Address Geneva County Courthouse
200 North Commerce Street
Geneva, AL 36340,
Phone: (334) 684-5620 Adams County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Geneva County Courthouse
200 North Commerce Street
Geneva, AL 36340,
Phone: (334) 684-5620

Probate Judge has marriage records from 1898
and military discharge records from 1890
Clerk Circuit Court has court recrods from 1923 and divorce records.[1]

History

Parent County

1868--Geneva County was created 26 December 1868 from Dale, Henry and Coffee Counties.
County seat: Geneva [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Fire.png
1898 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

For a list of record loss in Alabama counties see: Alabama Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Algeneva.jpg

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Biographies

Biographies of many notable residents of Geneva County, Alabama were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Begins on page 1031.

Cemeteries

Additional Geneva County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1 at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Census

Geneva County, Alabama
Year Pop.  %±
1870 2,959
1880 4,342 46.7%
1890 10,690 146.2%
1900 19,096 78.6%
1910 26,230 37.4%
1920 29,315 11.8%
1930 30,104 2.7%
1940 29,172 −3.1%
1950 25,899 −11.2%
1960 22,310 −13.9%
1970 21,924 −1.7%
1980 24,253 10.6%
1990 23,647 −2.5%
2000 25,764 9.0%
2010 26,790 4.0%
For tips on accessing Geneva County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Land and Property

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Geneva County, Alabama see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Geneva County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2007. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.1292 E7b.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Geneva County, Alabama. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps

Military


Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Geneva County, Alabama newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Geneva County, Alabama Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Geneva County, Alabama Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth
  • 1912-1918 - Geneva County Birth Index 1912-1918. Batch C547531 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
Death
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
  • 1912-1918 - Geneva County Death Index 1912-1918. Batch B547536 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Societies and Libraries

Libraries

Emma Knox Kenan Public Library
312 South Commerce Street
Geneva, Alabama 36340
Telephone: 334-684-2459

Family History Center

  • Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
  • Dothan Alabama
    • 3199 Ross Clark Cir NW
      Dothan, Dale/Houston/Henry/Geneva, Alabama, United States
      Phone: 334-793-7425
      Hours: T 8:30-11:30pm, 1:30pm-4pm;
      T-Th 6:30pm-8:30pm;
      Th 9am-12pm, 1pm-3:30pm
  • Enterprise Alabama
    • 110 Shell Field Rd
      Enterprise, Coffee, Dale, Houston, Geneva, Alabama, United States
      Phone: 334-347-3631
      Hours:Tues & Thurs 10 am -2pm Wed 4pm-8pm;
      other times by appt.
      Closures: Closed on Holidays

Geneva County Alabama Genealogy Websites

Helpful Websites

Geneva County Alabama Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Geneva County p. 37. ; .
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Geneva County Alabama in AllFreeRecords.com (accessed 16 March 2014).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/06/Igialabamadj.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 18:15.
  • This page has been accessed 13,849 times.