Georgia (country)Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Asia Gotoarrow.png Georgia

Guide to Georgia (country) ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

This article is about the Eurasian country. For the southern U.S. state, see Georgia (state).
Mountains of Georgia , Shkhara peak.jpg

News and Events


Topics
Other Heading
  • (bullet)


Coat of arms of Georgia
Flag of Georgia
Map of Georgia and region


Georgia is a country located at the crossroads of Asia and Europe. It is located in the region known as the Caucasus. It was a critical location on the old Silk Road that transported goods and people in both directions from ancient times. It is bounded to the west by the Black Sea, to the north by Russia, to the south by Turkey and Armenia, and to the southeast by Azerbaijan.

The unified Kingdom of Georgia reached the peak of its political and economic strength in the 11th–12th centuries.

During the Twentieth century, and in the era of the USSR, it was assimilated into that union, and became an independent country after the break up of the USSR in 1993.

Georgia is divided into 9 regions,1 city (Tbilisi), and 2 autonomous republics (Autonomous Republic of Abkhazia and Autonomous Republic of Adjara). These in turn are subdivided into 72 districts.

Regions of Georgia:

  • Guria
  • Imereti
  • Kakheti
  • Kvemo Kartli
  • Mtskheta-Mtianeti
  • Racha-Lechkhumi and Kvemo Svaneti
  • Samegrelo-Zemo Svaneti
  • Samtskhe-Javakheti
  • Shida Kartli
Freedom square, Tbilisi and the city hall.jpg

Contents

Getting started with Georgia Research

FamilySearch Wiki is a community website dedicated to helping people throughout the world learn how to find their ancestors. Through the Georgia Page you can learn how to find, use, and analyze Georgian records of genealogical value. The content is variously targeted to beginners, intermediate, and expert researchers. The Georgia Page is a work in progress, your contributions and feedback are essential!

Research Tools

Some information on present day Georgia vital statistics can be found through the following website: http://en.worldstat.info/Asia/Georgia/Vital_statistics.

Another useful website follows: http://genforum.genealogy.com/georgia/


FamilySearch Wiki is a community website dedicated to helping people throughout the world learn how to find their ancestors. Through the Georgia Page you can learn how to find, use, and analyze Georgian records of genealogical value. The content is variously targeted to beginners, intermediate, and expert researchers. The Georgia Page is a work in progress, your contributions and feedback are essential!

Research Tools

Featured Content

Did you know?

(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)

  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)

Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 December 2014, at 21:10.
  • This page has been accessed 5,064 times.