Germans from Russia Military RecordsEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Germans from Russia
Military Records
Military records identify individuals who served in the military or who were eligible for service. Many young men were required to serve in or register for military service in Germany and the United States. Evidence that an ancestor actually served may be found in family records, biographies, and census records.
Relatively few Germans from Russia severed in the military. One of the incentives for colonizing Russia was the promise of exemption from Russian military service. Some Germans chose to move to Russia with this promise in mind in order to avoid military service in Germany. Part of the German colonists in Russia belonged to churches such as the Mennonites and Hutterites that taught their members to avoid military service for religious reasons. When Russia changed its policy and required military service, these religious groups left Russia. When they immigrated to the United States they continued to seek military service exemptions because of their religion.
For details about available military records for Germans who served in the military prior to their immigration to Russia see the Germany Wiki page. For details about records of Germans from Russia who served in the military after immigrating see the U.S. Military Records Wiki page, and the Canada Military Records Wiki page.
| ||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 17 October 2011, at 12:29.
- This page has been accessed 960 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More