Gerrard's Cross, BuckinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Buckinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Buckinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Gerrard's Cross, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gerrard's Cross, Buckinghamshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Burnham; Stoke
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Eton PLU
Registration District Amersham; Eton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1861; For more records see Chalfont St Peter and also Fulmer and also Iver and also Langley Marish and also Upton cum Chalvey
Bishop's Transcripts: 1861
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Burnham
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Church History

GERRARDS-CROSS, a posting-village, in the parish of Chalfont St. Peter, union of Amersham, hundred of Burnham, county of Buckingham, 3¼ miles (E. by S.) from Beaconsfield.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1603.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241213.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Chalfont St Peter including Gerrard's Cross on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 287-291. Date accessed and adapted 11 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 October 2014, at 18:50.
  • This page has been accessed 746 times.