Gibson County, TennesseeEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Tennessee Gotoarrow.png Gibson County

Gibson County, Tennessee genealogy and family history research page. Guide to Gibson County (established 1823) genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Tennessee
Online Records
Gibson County, Tennessee
Map
Boundary map of Gibson County, Tennessee
Map of Tennessee highlighting Gibson County
Location in the state of Tennessee
Map of the U.S. highlighting Tennessee
Location of Tennessee in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: October 21, 1823
County Seat Trenton
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
TGW 45x45.jpg This page adopted by:
TNGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Gibson County Tennessee Quick Dates

Gibson County's civil records start the following years:[1]

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1881 1824  1881  1830 1819  1824 

Gibson County Tennessee Courthouse

Gibson County Courthouse
County Courthouse; PO Box 228
Trenton, TN 38382
Phone: 731.855.7639 

County Clerk has marriage records from 1824 and probate records 1824-1981.
Registerof Deeds has land records. [2]

Gibson County Courthouse, Trenton, Tenn. Courtesy: Collection: County Court Houses, Flickr by Jimmy Emerson. Used by permission.

Gibson County Courthouse
P.O. Box 228
1 Court Square
Trenton, Tennessee 38382
Phone: (731) 855-7642

County Clerk has marriage and probate records
Register of Deeds has land records
Circuit Court Clerk has court records

Hours:
Mon.-Fri. 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
Sat. 8 a.m.-noon

Gibson County Tennessee History

West Tennessee county. Established 1823.

Parent County

The Tennessee General Assembly created Gibson County on October 21, 1823, out of lands ceded by the Chickasaws in the Jackson Purchase.[3] It was named in honor of John H. Gibson, who served with distinction under Andrew Jackson in the Natchez Expedition and in the Creek Wars.

In 1819 Thomas Fite built the first cabin in Gibson County, which was then part of Carroll County. Luke Biggs, Davy Crockett, and others followed. Settlement progressed rapidly, and residents soon petitioned the general assembly for the formation of a new county, citing the difficulty of getting to the courts of Carroll County.

Commissioners appointed by the general assembly selected a county seat site near the center of the county where Thomas Gibson, a brother of John Gibson, operated a trading post. Initially called Gibson-Port, the name was soon changed to Trenton. County government was organized in January 1824, when the Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions met at Biggs's residence. Following terms of the court met in the residence of William C. Love until April 1825, when the first term of court met in a temporary courthouse made of hewn logs.

For a more extensive history see Goodspeeds History of Gibson County.

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[4] (female)
  2. Hear it spoken[5] (male)

Boundary Changes

In 1837 the county line between Gibson and Weakley counties was adjusted to include the southwestern corner of Weakley County, all land below the South Fork of the Obion in Gibson County. This simplified travel to a county seat by eliminating the need for river crossings but thereby robbed Weakley County of its most famous citizen, David Crockett, who had been killed in Texas the year before. In 1871 the newly created Crocket County acquired Gibson County territory south of the Middle Fork of the Forked Deer River for essentially the same reasons.[6]

For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Tennessee counties see: Tennessee Counties with Burned Courthouses

There was a fire at the Gibson County courthouse in 1941, but records are complete.[7]

Gibson County Tennessee Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities and Towns:

Avondale
Barrons Corner
Bradford
Brazil
Cades
China Grove
Concord
Cool Springs
Currie
Dyer
Eaton
Fairview
Four Points
Frog Jump
Fruitland
Gann
Georgetown
Gibson
Gibson Wells
Goat City
Good Luck
Graball
Grizzard
Hickory Grove
Holly Leaf
Hopewell
Hughes Loop
Humboldt
Idlewild
Laneview
Ledbetter
Lynn
Medina
Milan
Moores Chapel
Mount Orange
Neboville
New Enterprise
Rutherford
Sitka
Skullbone
Stringtown
Tilghman
Trenton
Tuckers Corner
Tyson Store
Union Central
Vaughns Grove
Walnut Grove
West
Yorkville

Neighboring Counties

Gibson County Tennessee Genealogy Resources

Tngibson.png

Research Guides

African Americans

United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png Tennessee African Americans

Biographies

Cemeteries

Tennessee cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

The following websites may contain Gibson County cemetery records:

Individual cemeteries:

Census

1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 federal population censuses of Gibson County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Gibson County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. [The USGenWeb Census Project®]

1830

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

1850

  • Seventh census of the United States, 1850, Gibson County, Tennessee, free population schedules Huntsville, Arkansas : Century Enterprises Genealogical Services, 1970 FHL US/CAN book 976.823 X2

1860

1880

  • Sistler, Barbara 1880 census Gibson County, Tennessee Nashville, Tennessee : Byron Sistler and Associates, 2002 FHL US/CAN book 976.823 X2

1890 - Lost, but substitutes are available:

  • Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 3 1891. [Gibson County is included in Vol. 3.]
  • Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890.

Church

Court

  • Hays, Tony Gibson County (Tennessee) records, 1824-1846 [S.I. : Kitchen Table Press, 1986. FHL US/CAN Book 976.823 P2h
  • Historical Records Survey Chancery Court minutes, 1834-1847, Gibson County, Tennessee Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1939. FHL US/CAN Film 24650
  • Historical Records Project (Tennessee) and Tennessee Circuit Court (Gibson County) Circuit Court Minutes, 1824-1832, Gibson County, Tennessee Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1939. FHL US/CAN Film 24652 item 2
  • Historical Records Survey, Gibson County, Tennessee County Court and Gibson County, Tennessee Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions County Court Minutes, 1824-1828, Gibson County, Tennessee Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1942. FHL US/CAN Film 24651 items 1-2
  • Walker, Emily B. Gibson County, Tennessee, court minutes Includes index. South Fulton, Tennessee : E.B. Walker, 1987. FHL US/CAN Book 976.823 P2w

DNA

DNA Double Helix.png
DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Gibson County residents. Attempts have not been made to verify the lineages of those tested.
  • [Brown] Multiple descendants of John Brown, b. 1824 ?Knoxville, Knox County, Tennessee, resident of Gibson County, Tennessee in 1850, d. 1858 ?Missouri. Y-DNA 25 and 37 Marker Tests, FTDNA (Kits 64730, 64731). Genetic signatures available online (labeled Group No. 46), genealogical description available online, courtesy: Brown/Browne/Braun DNA Study. Matches have been found.

Family Histories

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]

General

As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Gibson, Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 44,000 entries.

  • Families and History of Gibson County, Tennessee to 1989. Milan, Tenn.: Lee-Davis United Daughters of the Confederacy Historical Society, 1989. FHL Book 976.823 H2L.

Bibliography

  • [Burress] Burress, Charles G. The Family of William Burress (ca. 1799-1850?) of Tennessee. Phoenix, Ariz.?: unknown, 1971. Available at FHL US/CAN Film 962162; Ancestry ($); and Heritage Quest Online ($).
  • [Jennings] Jennings, Virginia L. and Robert B. Jennings. William Crunk Jennings and Allied Families. Baton Rouge, Louisiana: V.L. Jennings, 1983. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 J449j.
  • [King] Hill, Ailene King and Lowrance, Juantia King Alvin King His Ancestors and Descendants 1630 - 1996 [1996] Available at the Family History Library FamilySearch Books Online; FHL book 929.273 K58ha
  • [Luckey] Luckey, Ann Colvin and Elizabeth Luckey Bennett. The Luckey Family of Tennessee: A Genealogical History of the John Henry Luckey, William Franklin Luckey and Samuel Joseph Luckey of Gibson/Madison Counties, Tennessee Their Ancestors and Descendants, 1732-1987. Cullman, Ala.: Gregath, 1987. FHL HIST;Book 929.273 L964L.
  • [Wade] Beadles, Zada Wade. The Wades the history of a family, dealing with the kith and kin of Zachary and Mary Hatton Wade, their descendants and related lines, male and female, in Maryland, Virginia, Tennessee, South Carolina, North Carolina and other states. Cairo, IL: Published for the author, Mrs. Jesse Asa Beadles, 1963. Available at FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 W119c; digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).

Land

  • Gibson County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1823 and is located at the Courthouse, Trenton, Tennessee , P.O. Box 228, Trenton, TN 38382-0228; Telephone: (731) 855-7642. Land and property records include transfer of real estate or personal property, mortgages, leases, surveys, and entries
  • The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Gibson County land records. They offer a research service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:
        Deed Book A: 1819-1829
  • Gibson County Register of Deeds Deed records, 1819-1890; index to deeds, 1819-1901  Nashville, Tennessee:State Library and Archives, 1976  FHL US/CAN Film 1008149-178 and 1007807-10
  • Crumpton, Barbara Gibson County, Tennessee : [deed books] Duncan, Oklahoma : Creative Copies, c2000. FHL US/CAN Book 976.823 R2c v. 1-2
  • Smith, Jonathan Kennon Thompson Genealogical abstracts from early land, chancery and other records of Gibson County, Tennessee Jackson, Tennessee : J.K.T. Smith, c1998 FHL US/CAN 976.823 R28s
  • Walker, Emily B. Gibson County, Tennessee, landowners, 1877 South Fulton, Tennessee : E.B. Walker, c1986 FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 A1 no.99
  • Walker, Emily B. North Carolina land grants in the Western District (Tennessee), most particularly Gibson and surrounding counties: volumes A-B, 1788-1796 E.B. Walker, 1987. googlebooks $

Law and Legislation

  • Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. [In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service.] The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at the TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.

Local Histories


Maps

Military

Revolutionary War

The following Gibson County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:

Additional resources include:

War of 1812

Civil War

Civil War service men from Gibson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Gibson County.

Confederate Soldiers

Union Soldiers

Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Gibson County:

World War I

  • With the Colors written in 1920 by Mrs. Gordon Brame Hargrove. It is described by Mrs. Hargrove as an "Honor Roll containing a pictorial history of Gibson County Tennessee, USA, Specially honoring Those that Served in the Great World War, 1917 - 1918 - 1919."  In most instances it gives the name, date of birth, parents names, enlistment date, where served and muster out date of the soldiers that fought in World War I from Gibson County Tennessee.

Newspapers


Humboldt Chronicle
2606 East End Drive
Humboldt, TN 38343
731.784.2531
web site
Milan Mirror-Exchange
1104 S. Main Street
Milan, TN 38358
731.686.1632
web site
Trenton Gazette
111 E. 1st Street
Trenton, TN 38382
731.855.1711
web site
 

The Jackson Sun
245 W. Lafayette Street
Jackson, Tennessee
731.427.3333
web site
The Commercial Appeal
495 Union Ave.
Memphis, TN, 38103
901.529.2345
800.444.6397
web site

  • Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at the TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Gibson County click on the following cities or towns:

Occupations

  • Miller, Alan N. West Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1821 to 1889. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2006. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2man. Purchase at Genealogical.com. [Includes Gibson County.]

Periodicals

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:

Ansearchin' News
Genealogical articles with abstracts of Gibson County, Tennessee records have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL Book 976.8 B2a.
Family Findings
Genealogical articles with abstracts of Gibson County, Tennessee records have been published in Family Findings, the quarterly of the Mid-West Tennessee Genealogical Society (42+ vols.). The Family History Library has most issues of this quarterly FHL US/CAN 976.8 B2f.
Tables of contents for some volumes are available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb Project:
Many articles from this publication have been reproduced on the TNGenWeb Project website, try this specialized Google search.
West Tennessee Historical Society Papers
Family History Library has Volumes 1 - 16 and 30 FHL US/CAN Book 976.81 B5w. The West Tennessee Historical Society Papers are indexed in PERiodical Source Index (PERSI).
To view Table of Contents and complete articles from 1947 - 2005 see Shelby County Register of Deeds

Prisons

Learn if your Gibson County, Tennessee ancestors went to prison!

Probate

The County Court and Probate Court have responsibility for the probate records of Gibson County.

FamilySearch has placed scans of the following records online in the Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 collection. These are browse-only collections. Handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes:

  • Wills, 1824-1908 (8 vols.)
  • Bonds, Wills, 1825-1852 (3 vols.)
  • Claims against estates, 1862-1917
  • Guardian records, 1843-1862, 1872-1879
  • Insolvent estate records, 1876-1909
  • Inventories, 1836-1843, 1855-1872
  • Letters, 1867-1884
  • Settlements, 1856-1903 (14 vols.)
  • Accounts, 1852-1855, 1888-1903 (2 vols.)
  • Administrator records, 1843-1857
  • Bonds, 1860-1922 (5 vols.)

The following Gibson County probate records have been abstracted, indexed, or both:

  • [1824-1846] Hays, Tony. Gibson County (Tennessee) Records, 1824-1846. [N.p.]: Kitchen Table Press, 1986. This indexed book includes probate records abstracted from the county court minutes. (FHL book 976.823 P2h.)
  • [1852-1879] Hays, Tony; Janice S. Jackson, indexer. Gibson - Crockett: A Joint Heritage. [N.p.]: Kitchen Table Press, 1986. This indexed book includes abstracts of these Gibson County records: Court Minute Book H (1861-1865), Court Minute Book I (1866-1869), Wills (1852-1856), and Inventories (1872-1879). (FHL book 976.8 P2h.)
  • [1825-1861] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn.: Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. [Includes an index to this county's probate records.]
  • [1824-1846] Walker, Emily B. Gibson County, Tennessee, Bond and Will Books A,B and C, 1824-1846 South Fulton, Tenn.: E.B. Walker, 1986. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 A1 no. 98

Taxation

The original Gibson County Tax Records 1867-1884 are kept at the County Courthouse. In 1976, TSLA microfilmed these records. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN The following Gibson County tax records have been abstracted:[8]

  • [1824-1832] Walker, Emily B. Gibson County, Tennessee, Tax Lists, with Map. 2 vols. [1824-1832] South Fulton, Tenn.: E.B. Walker, 1988. FHL US/CAN Book 976.823 R4w ff.
  • [1830] "Gibson County, Tennessee 1830 List of Inhabitants," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 41, No. 3 (Fall 1994):99-102; Vol. 41, No. 4 (Winter 1994):169-171. For access, see Periodicals.
  • [1830] Cox, Jere and Vicki Shaffer. "1830 Sheriff's List" [2 parts], available online, courtesy: USGenWeb Archives.
  • [1830] Cox, Jere and Vicki Shaffer. "1830 2nd Sheriff's List," available online, courtesy: USGenWeb Archives.
  • [1833] Tucker, Rick. "1833 Gibson Co. Tax List," available online, courtesy: USGenWeb Archives.
  • [1834] Tucker, Rick. "1834 Gibson Co. Tax List," available online, courtesy: USGenWeb Archives.
  • [1834] Tucker, Rick. "1834 Sheriff's Tax List," available online, courtesy: USGenWeb Archives.
  • [1834] Tucker, Rick. "1834 Tax Rates," available online, courtesy: USGenWeb Archives.
  • [1835] Tucker, Rick. "1835 Sheriff's Tax List," available online, courtesy: USGenWeb Archives.
  • [1835] Tucker, Rick. "1835 Tax List & Rates," available online, courtesy: USGenWeb Archives.
  • [1836] Hollis, Jane. "Gibson County, Tennessee Tax List - 1836," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 25, No. 2 (Summer 1978):65-70; Vol. 25, No. 3 (Fall 1978):124-129, 144. For FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.

Vital Records

See also How to order Tennessee Vital Records or order electronically online.

Birth
Marriage

The following Gibson County marriage records have been abstracted and/or indexed:

  • 1824-1870 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Early West Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. Nashville, Tenn.: B. Sistler & Associates, 1989. FHL Book 976.8 V2sb v. 1 ff. [Indexes names of brides and grooms, and marriage dates for weddings in this county for the specified years.]
  • 1824-1950 - Tennessee County Court (Gibson County)Marriage records, 1824-1950; index 1829-1950 Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1998. FHL US/CAN Films.
  • 1824-1957 - Gibson County (Tennessee) County Court Clerk Marriage Records (Gibson County, Tennessee), 1824-1957 Nashville, Tennessee : Tennessee State Library and Archives, 1976-1988. FHL US/CAN Films
  • 1824-1960 - Historical Records Survey. Marriage records,1824-1860 Gibson County, Tennessee Nashville, Tennessee : Tennessee State Library and Archives, 1939. FHL US/CAN Film 24652 Item 4
  • 1824-1860 - Whitely, Edythe Rucker and McGhan, Judith Marriages of Gibson County, Tennessee, 1824-1860 Includes index. Baltimore, Maryland : Genealogical Pub. Co., 1982. FHL US/CAN Book 976.823 V2w
  • 1827-1895 - Gibson County Marriage Index 1827-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[9]
  • 1860-1870 - Gossum, Mary Louise and Walker, Emily B. Gibson County, Tennessee, marriage records, volume A June 1860-November, 1870 Arranged alphabetically by groom. Includes bride's surname index. Fulton, Ky.: M.L. Gossum, c1984. FHL US/CAN Book 976.823 V2g
  • 1865-1866 - Craighead, Sandra G. Index and Analysis of the Register of Colored Marriages Performed at the Freedmen's Bureau in Trenton (Gibson County) Tennessee, 1865-1866. S.G. Craighead, 1995. Digital version at TNGenWeb.
  • Tennessee County Marriages, 1790-1950 - covers all counties in Tennessee.
  • Many county marriage records are indexed with images at Ancestry's Tennessee State Marriages, 1780-2002 ($).  Be aware that this index is not complete for all counties.


Freedman's Bureau Marriage Certificates (1861-1869) is an index to the marriage records kept by the Memphis Field Office of the Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen and Abandoned Lands. It includes grooms surname, grooms given name, groom's age, bride's surname, bride's given name and other information.

Divorce

In 1940 and 1941, W.P.A. workers pinpointed the location of Gibson County divorce papers in diverse manuscript collections, including some separate divorce cases, see:

  • W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 A3gp.
Death
  • Hays, Tony Gibson County Death Records Kitchen Table Press, 1987 googlebooks

For deaths of Methodists in Gibson County between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:

Gibson County Tennessee Genealogy Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Tennessee Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Gibson County Memorial Library
303 High St
Trenton, TN 38382
Phone: 1-731-855-1991
Hours:
Mon. 9 a.m.-6 p.m.
Tues.-Fri. 9 a.m.-5 p.m.
Sat. 9 a.m.-1 p.m.

Humboldt Public Library
115 S 16th Ave
Humboldt, TN 38343
Phone: 1-731-784-2383
Hours:
Mon, Wed - Fri 9 a.m.-5 p.m.
Tues. 9 a.m.-7 p.m.
Sat. 10 a.m.-4 p.m.
The Anne Laurie James Genealogy Room holds newspapers as well as other genealogical materials.
Mildred G. Fields Memorial Library
1075A E Van Hook St
Milan, TN 38358
Phone: 1-731-686-8268
E-mail: librarymilan@bellsouth.net Hours:
Mon.-Tues. 9 a.m.-6 p.m.
Wed.-Fri. 9 a.m.-5 p.m.
Sat. 9 a.m.-12 p.m.

West Tennessee Heritage Study Center
Paul Meek Library
University of Tennessee at Martin
Phone: 1-731-881-7060
Hours vary by semester
The Heritage Study Center holds a variety of genealogical resources including materials relating to the following counties in Tennessee: Benton, Carroll, Chester, Crockett, Decatur, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Henry, Houston, Humphreys, Lake, Lauderdale, Madison, McNairy, Obion, Perry, Shelby, Stewart, Tipton, Wayne, Weakley and Carlisle, Fulton, and Hickman counties in Kentucky.
West Tennessee Historical Society
P.O. Box 111046
Memphis, TN 38111
Phone: 1-901-475-6608
E-mail: efrank@memphis.edu


Family History Centers

Gibson County Tennessee Genealogy Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Gibson County, Tennessee

Gibson County Tennessee Genealogy References

  1. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey (W.P.A.), 1941; "Earliest County Records," Tennessee State Library and Archives.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Gibson County, Tennessee page 639, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 639. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
  4. Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
  5. Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
  6. Frederick M. Culp and Mrs. Robert E. Ross, Gibson County: Past and Present (Trenton, Tenn.: Gibson County Historical Society, 1961)
  7. Robert M. McBride, Tennessee County Data (Nashville, Tennessee: Tennessee States Library and Archives, 1966), 23.
  8. The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
  9. 9.0 9.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d3/Igitennesseef.pdf.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:18.
  • This page has been accessed 40,809 times.