Gila River Indian Community, Arizona (Reservation)Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Arizona Gotoarrow.png Indians of Arizona Gotoarrow.png Gila River Indian Community, Arizona (Reservation)

Guide to Pima-Maricopa Indian ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

GilaRiverCommunityinSouthernMaricopaCounty&NorthernPinaCounty,Arizona.png

Contents


The Gila River Indian Community is a federally-recognized tribal entity and is primarily associated with the Gila River Indian Reservation in Arizona.

Established: February 28, 1859

Agency: Pima, Papago and Maricopa Agency

Tribe: Pima-Maricopa

Population: 1969: Tribal enrollment 7,200 [1]

Tribal Headquarters

Gila River Indian Community
P.O. Box 97
Sacaton, AZ 85247
Phone: 1.520.562.9500
Fax: 1.520.562.9729

History

Brief Timeline

1859 Reservation created

Reservations

This community is primarily associated with the Gila River Reservation in Arizona.

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Roster of the Gila River Relocation Center November, 1945. FHL film: 573958

Land Records: Tribal land: 274,492 acres, Allotted Land: 97,438 acres

Webites

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.

References

  1. Indian Reservations A State and Federal Handbook. Compiled by The Confederation of American Indians, New York, N.Y. McFarland and Co. Inc., Jefferson, North Carolina, c. 1986. FHL book 970.1 In2

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 August 2015, at 17:36.
  • This page has been accessed 4,485 times.